Music: Holiday songfest with Robert Messore and friends Thurs., Dec. 22

Robert Messore

Robert Messore

Guitarist Robert Messore brings a bunch of his friends to Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Dec. 22, for a holiday show. The event starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Robert Messore: “Holiday bustle or blues getting to you? Come take a peaceful break and we’ll have a cozy time at Best Video, a surprisingly cozy place. I’ll play some pretty tunes, we’ll sing some carols, and some extra special guests will sit in, too.”

Robert Messore (meh-sor’-ee) has been called “Connecticut’s finest fingerstyle guitarist.” He plays beautiful instrumental guitar music and he is noted for composing tuneful pieces that work well as music, and not simply as fancy guitar playing. Robert has been called “the Heart of the New Haven Folk Scene” for his vital and many-faceted contributions as solo performer, side man, recording artist, teacher and concert presenter (working on several concert series and the Connecticut Folk Festival). Robert has passionately devoted himself to the guitar for 30+ years and was voted Best Instrumentalist in a New Haven Advocate readers’ poll.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Monday, Dec. 19. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CONTACT”

• Wednesday, Dec. 21. AVANT-GARDE: RYAN KAYHART, GAA

• Thursday, Dec. 22. HOLIDAY CONCERT: ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Dec. 23. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: DUST HAT (DEBUT!), SOLO ELECTRIC GUITAR: BILL BECKETT

• Thursday, Dec. 29. JAZZ: MICHAEL COPPOLA

• Friday, Dec. 30. IMPROVISED/AVANT-GARDE: NAGUAL

• Wednesday, Jan. 4. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE FURORS

• Friday, Jan. 6. ACOUSTIC FOLK BLUES & MORE: VANGE DURST

• Saturday, Jan. 7. MUSIC OF “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Wednesday, Jan. 11. AMERICANA: PLYWOOD COWBOY

• Friday, Jan. 13. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Thursday, Jan. 19. GOTH/SHOEGAZE: TELEGRAM SCAM

• Friday, Jan. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Friday, Jan. 27. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Friday, Feb. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Feb. 10. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING, MERCY CHOIR (solo)

• Friday, Feb. 24. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Saturday, Feb. 25. MUSIC: “SHALL WE TALK ABOUT THE GOVERNMENT?”

• Friday, Mar. 10. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR