UPDATE—POSTPONED Molly McLaughlin & Derek Monahan play folk & Irish music Fri., Jan. 7

Molly McLaughlin and Derek Monahan

UPDATE Dec. 27, 2021. Due to unforeseen circumstances, the scheduled Jan. 7 show with Molly McLaughlin and Derek Monahan has been postponed. We will reschedule this show for the spring & announce a new date as a separate Facebook event when scheduled.

Molly McLaughlin and Derek Monahan play folk and Irish music at Best Video Film & Cultural Center on Fri., Jan. 7. The show starts at 7 PM and the cover is $10.

This is an indoor show so attendance is 30 max. Proof of vaccination is required to enter and masks are required.

Molly McLaughlin and Derek Monahan perform folk music from North America and Europe for flute and guitar. Derek and Molly began working together in 2005 while attending the Hartt School of Music in Hartford, CT. In addition to studying classical music, Molly and Derek collected folk tunes from Ireland as well as repertoire from South America and Spain.

Molly is a widely diversified flutist drawing on experience in contemporary classical, improvisation, and Irish traditional music. As a flutist and singer, Molly has toured with Jethro Tull, recorded at Capitol Records, and currently performs with ensembles across the USA and Ireland. Derek is a versatile guitarist, banjoist, and singer working across New England. He has built a career performing numerous styles of music including classical, disco, Irish, and rock. Derek and Molly honor the musical traditions they draw upon through research and education while contributing their unique sound.

Katie & David play Irish music Thurs., May 6, at 5 PM

Katie & David play traditional Irish music on the Best Video Film & Cultural Center deck Thurs., May 6, starting at 5 PM.

Born in London, England, to Irish parents, Katie Murray moved to Co. Mayo, Ireland, at age 10 and quickly immersed herself in the South Sligo music scene, which has highly influenced her style of fiddle playing. Following a number of years in Manchester, England, Katie moved to New Haven, Connecticut in 2015 where she works as Research Scientist. Katie can be regularly found playing in Irish music sessions throughout New England.

David Sasso is a multi-instrumentalist and composer who can be heard playing with folk/acoustic duo Kat Wallace and David Sasso and bluegrass group Five ‘n Change. A psychiatrist by day, he enjoys playing mandolin-family instruments in a variety of folk genres. He met Katie through the Irish traditional music scene in CT.

We ask respect for social distancing, please, and masks are mandatory. (Yes, you can lower them to take a drink but please raise them up again.)

No cover charge but please bring cash for the musicians’ tip jar. This has been a real hard time for musicians, almost all of whom have seen their live performance income dry up.

Parking available behind Best Video and on Thornton Street.

For a complete list of upcoming events, click here.

Music: Irish/Celtic music jam Sun., Feb. 16, from 2-4 PM

Best Video Performance Space hosts a monthly acoustic Irish music jam. The February jam takes place on Sunday, Feb. 16, from 2-4 PM. The jam, organized by musicians Jim & Willow Sirch, takes place on the third Sunday of each month (unless it needs to be rescheduled due to other Best Video Film & Cultural Center programming).

As with our bluegrass jams, feel free to come and join in or just sit and listen.

Click here for the complete list of upcoming events.

Music: Irish/Celtic music jam Sun., Jan. 19, 2-4 PM

Best Video Performance Space hosts a monthly acoustic Irish music jam. The January jam takes place on Sunday, Jan. 19, from 2-4 PM. The jam, organized by musicians Jim & Willow Sirch, takes place on the third Sunday of each month (unless it needs to be rescheduled due to other Best Video Film & Cultural Center programming).

As with our bluegrass jams, feel free to come and join in or just sit and listen.

Click here for the complete list of upcoming events.

Monthly Irish jam takes place Sun., Oct. 20, at 2 PM

Best Video Performance Space hosts a monthly acoustic Irish music jam. The October jam takes place on Sunday, Oct. 20, from 2-4 PM. The jam, organized by musicians Jim & Willow Sirch, takes place on the third Sunday of each month (unless it needs to be rescheduled due to other Best Video Film & Cultural Center programming).

As with our bluegrass jams, feel free to come and join in or just sit and listen.

Click here for the complete list of upcoming events.

September Irish/Celtic music jam takes place Sun., Sept. 15, from 2-4 PM

Best Video Performance Space hosts a monthly acoustic Irish music jam. The September jam takes place on Sunday, Sept. 15, from 2-4 PM. The jam, organized by musicians Jim & Willow Sirch, takes place on the third Sunday of each month (unless it needs to be rescheduled due to other Best Video Film & Cultural Center programming).

As with our bluegrass jams, feel free to come and join in or just sit and listen.

Click here for the complete list of upcoming events.

Irish/Celtic music jam slated for Sun., Aug. 18, 2-4 PM

Best Video Performance Space hosts a monthly acoustic Irish music jam. The August jam takes place on Sunday, Aug. 18, from 2-4 PM. The jam, organized by musicians Jim & Willow Sirch, takes place on the third Sunday of each month (unless it needs to be rescheduled due to other Best Video Film & Cultural Center programming).

As with our bluegrass jams, feel free to come and join in or just sit and listen.

Click here for the complete list of upcoming events.

Music: Irish/Celtic music jam Sun., May 19, 2-4 PM

Best Video Performance hosts a monthly acoustic Irish music jam. The May jam takes place on Sunday, Mar. 19, from 2-4 PM. The jam, organized by musicians Jim & Willow Sirch, takes place on the third Sunday of each month (unless it needs to be rescheduled due to other Best Video Film & Cultural Center programming).

As with our bluegrass jams, feel free to come and join in or just sit and listen.

Click here for the complete list of upcoming events.

Music: Monthly Irish/Celtic music jam coincidentally falls on St. Patrick’s Day, Sun., Mar. 17, from 1-3 PM

Best Video Performance hosts a monthly acoustic Irish music jam. The March jam takes place on St. Patrick’s Day, Sunday, Mar. 17, from 1-3 PM. The jam, organized by musicians Jim & Willow Sirch, takes place on the third Sunday of each month (unless it needs to be rescheduled due to other Best Video Film & Cultural Center programming).

As with our bluegrass jams, feel free to come and join in or just sit and listen.

Click here for the complete list of upcoming events.

Music: Irish music jam this Sun., Jan. 20, 2-4 PM

Best Video Performance hosts a monthly acoustic Irish music jam. The October jam takes place Sunday, Dec. 16. The jam, organized by musicians Jim & Willow Sirch, lasts from 3:30-5:30 PM and takes place on the third Sunday of each month (unless it needs to be rescheduled due to other Best Video Film & Cultural Center programming).

As with our bluegrass jams, feel free to come and join in or just sit and listen.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Tuesday, Jan. 15, 8 PM. REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP COMEDY SHOW HOSTED BY KENDRA DAWSEY

• Wednesday, Jan. 16. POP/ROCK: YOUTH XL, ROB NELSON

• Friday, Jan. 18. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE FURORS

• Sunday, Jan. 20, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Jan. 21, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Jan. 24. ACOUSTIC FOLK/CONTRA DANCE TUNES: WRY BRED

• Friday, Jan. 25. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Monday, Jan. 28, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING: NH DOCS—THE NEW HAVEN DOCUMENTARY FILM FESTIVAL & BVFCC PRESENT “TRAVEL LIGHT” with director LINDSAY THOMPSON

• Tuesday, Jan. 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Jan. 31. JAZZ: PAUL SHANLEY

• Sunday, Feb. 3. GUITARTOWNCT SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Feb. 4. MONTHLY MOVIE-RELATED TRIVIA NIGHT: TRIVIA-237

• Thursday, Feb. 7. INDIE FOLK: PODUNK THROWBACKS; KLEZMER: KLEZMER FUSION COLLECTIVE

• Friday, Feb. 8. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Saturday, Feb. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Wednesday, Feb. 13. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, Feb. 15. BRAZILIAN JAZZ: SAMBELEZA (REUNION!)

• Sunday, Feb. 17, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Feb. 18, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Feb. 19, 8 PM. REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP COMEDY SHOW HOSTED BY KENDRA DAWSEY

• Thursday, Feb. 21, 7:30 PM. SURF MUSIC: RENEGADE LOUNGE; POST ROCK/FUTURE SURF: PANGALACTIC

• Friday, Feb. 22. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Thursday, Feb. 28, 7:30 PM. SYNTH POP: FALCONEER, PEARL SUGAR

• Saturday, Mar. 2. INDIE POP ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Sunday, Mar. 3. GUITARTOWN SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Mar. 4. MONTHLY MOVIE-RELATED TRIVIA NIGHT: TRIVIA-237

• Tuesday, Mar. 5, 7 PM. LITERARY: A READING FOR AL-MUTANABBI STREET—DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Wednesday, Mar. 6. IMPROVISED MUSIC: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Thursday, Mar. 7. ROCK/PUNK/ROOTS: THE CHRISTIAN MARRONE TRIO; INDIE: GHOSTWOODS

• Friday, Mar. 8. INDIE ROCK: KEESH/PHEOBE, GLAMBAT, SOFT SCREAMS

• Wednesday, Mar. 13. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, Mar. 15. BLUES/ROCK: VANGE DURST

• Sunday, Mar. 17, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Mar. 18, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Mar. 19, 8 PM. REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP COMEDY SHOW HOSTED BY KENDRA DAWSEY

• Wednesday, Mar. 20. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, Mar. 21. SINGER-SONGWRITER: BRIAN DOLZANI TRIO

• Friday, Mar. 22. AFRICAN JAZZ: MANDINGO AMBASSADORS

• Tuesday, Mar. 26, 7:30 PM. POETRY READING: CONNECTICUT POETRY SOCIETY

• Thursday, Mar. 28. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Friday, Mar. 29. AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Tuesday, Apr. 2, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING: “JOURNEY OF THE UNIVERSE” (PRESENTED BY HAMDEN LAND TRUST)

• Thursday, Apr. 4. GYPSY JAZZ: DJANGO’S RESERVE

• Friday, Apr. 5. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, LYS GUILLORN, SHELLYE VALAUSKAS, KIERSTIN SIESER

• Tuesday, Apr. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Thursday, Apr. 11. ACOUSTIC SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Apr. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JIM HURST (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Apr. 13. FOLK/COUNTRY/BLUEGRASS: THE GRAY SKY GIRLS

• Wednesday, April 17. ACOUSTIC FOLK ROCK: PAUL DECOSTER, EXPERIMENTAL ACOUSTIC: KAREN HOGG

• Friday, Apr. 26. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Tuesday, May 7, 7:30 PM. FILM SCREENING: “THE VILLAGE”

• Friday, May 24. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, May 30. IMPROVISED MUSIC: URS LEIMGRUBER, ADAM MATLOCK

• Tuesday, June 25, 7:30 PM. POETRY READING: CONNECTICUT POETRY SOCIETY

• Friday, Aug. 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: PHILLIPS, GRIER & FLINNER (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)