Vino Noir! A unique film screening and wine and cheese tasting event this Sat., May 14, at 6:30 PM

Vino_noir_graphic_WebJoin The Wine Thief’s Janine Sacco and film maven Hank Paper on Saturday, May 14, at 6:30 PM for an evening of wine tasting, cheese tasting (cheeses provided by Caseus) and a tasting of several amusing short films (including an Academy Award nominee or two). Hors d’oeuvre included. Expect to be oenologically and visually stimulated. Enjoy,  eat, drink and be merry! Admission is $35 and reservations are recommended because seating is limited.

The likely film menu:

DAS RAD: Two rock piles view the history of mankind in this highly clever 8 minute film.

MAESTRO: What it actually takes to go out and face the day would make some of us cuckoo.

HELMER & SON: At a senior care facility, a visiting son finds his father locked in a closet, refusing to come out.

ZEN AND THE ART OF LANDSCAPING: Seduction by a suburban housewife causes a lawn boy to cut off more than he can chew.

CUBBCHUBBS! Oscar winning animation short puts a highly witty Star Wars spin on karaoke.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Monday, May 9. FILM SCREENING: “FRUITVALE STATION”

• Tuesday, May 10. ECLECTIC: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS, PRETEND IT DIDN’T HAPPEN, THE HUMAN LIGHT BOX

• Wednesday, May 11. FILM SCREENING: BRIAN ROBINSON PRESENTS “THE APPLE”

• Friday, May 13. THREE SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, DICK NEAL, GLEN ROETHEL

• Saturday, May 14. FILM SCREENING/WINE & CHEESE TASTING: VINO/NOIR

• Monday, May 16. FILM SCREENING: “SARAH’S KEY” (in partnership with the Jewish Community Center of New Haven)

• Wednesday, May 18. BLUES: CODA BLUE

• Thursday, May 19. EXPERIMENTAL: RIVENER, CRETELLA|PAOLUCCI DUO, ID M THEFT ABLE & FLANDREW FLEISENBERG

• Friday, May 20. JAZZ VOCALS & GUITAR: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER

• Thursday, May 26. EXPERIMENTAL: ELECTRONHIC

• Friday, May 27. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Thursday, June 2. HALFWAY TO GUITAR NIGHT: SHAWN PERSINGER, NANCY TUCKER, NORMAN PLNKEY, ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, June 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR

• Thursday, June 9. CABARET/SINATRA: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Thursday, June 16. CHRISTOPHER ARNOTT & LYS GUILLORN CELEBRATE BLOOMSDAY

• Friday, June 24. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH, ALT-COUNTRY: LINES WEST

• Thursday, June 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: EUGENE GALLAGHER, QUINN HARLEY

• Friday, July 1. POST-PUNK: TELEGRAM SCAM

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, EARTHLINGS

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL