Music: Jazz vocals with guitar—Linda Satin & Joe Carter Duo—Fri., May 20, at 8 PM

Linda_Satin_Joe_Carter_WebThe duo of Linda Satin and Joe Carter make their debut performance Friday, May 20, at Best Video Performance Space. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Having performed in such diverse places as Rio de Janeiro, Curitiba and Recife in Brazil, Bombay, Goa and Bangalore in India, Trossingen and Stuttgart in Germany, plus Paris and Corsica in France, guitarist Joe Carter has used these experiences to form a sound and style that is rooted in Mainstream Jazz but flavored with the lyrical and rhythmical aspects of all the places he’s played, recorded and taught.

Joe Carter is currently the Director of the Academic Music Program at Sacred Heart University in Fairfield, CT.

Linda Satin has been singing on and off her whole life.  She grew up hearing her dad’s recordings of Ella Fitzgerald, Dinah Washington, Frank Sinatra and Tony Bennett.  In high school Linda studied piano with John Mehegan and got her first taste of singing in front of an audience at the Villanova Bar and Grill in Westport, CT with John Mehagan’s quartet, which featured Gerry Mulligan.  She was 17 years old.  She has studied voice for many years with jazz pianist Connie Crothers, and is a recording artist on the jazz label, New Artists Records.

Satin’s CD “The Way I Am” was recorded under the New Artists label in 2000.
She has sung at Birdland and other venues in the New York metropolitan area.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Saturday, May 14. FILM SCREENING/WINE & CHEESE TASTING: VINO/NOIR

• Monday, May 16. FILM SCREENING: “SARAH’S KEY” (in partnership with the Jewish Community Center of New Haven)

• Wednesday, May 18. BLUES: CODA BLUE

• Thursday, May 19. EXPERIMENTAL: RIVENER, CRETELLA|PAOLUCCI DUO, ID M THEFT ABLE & FLANDREW FLEISENBERG

• Friday, May 20. JAZZ VOCALS & GUITAR: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER

• Thursday, May 26. EXPERIMENTAL: ELECTRONHIC

• Friday, May 27. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Thursday, June 2. HALFWAY TO GUITAR NIGHT: SHAWN PERSINGER, NANCY TUCKER, NORMAN PLANKEY, ROBERT MESSORE (7:30 START)

• Friday, June 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR

• Sunday, June 5. FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wed., June 8. INDIE ROCK: GUN SHY, SHIRESE

• Thursday, June 9. CABARET/SINATRA: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Friday, June 10. ROCK: NOTHING SPECIAL

• Thursday, June 16. CHRISTOPHER ARNOTT & LYS GUILLORN CELEBRATE BLOOMSDAY

• Friday, June 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, June 24. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH, ALT-COUNTRY: LINES WEST

• Thursday, June 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: EUGENE GALLAGHER, QUINN HARLEY

• Friday, July 1. POST-PUNK: TELEGRAM SCAM, SPECTRAL FANGS

• Sunday, July 3. FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, July 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOSÉ OYOLA

• Thursday, July 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER/INDIE ROCK: DANIELLE CAPALBO

• Friday, July 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: KATH BLOOM, BOP TWEEDIE

• Sunday, July 24. INDIE, HIP-HOP: RUNNING LAPS & NATHAN CORP, THE FOREST ROOM, CHEF THE CHEF, ZAK G.

• Wednesday, July 27. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS PRESENTS THE MUSIC OF ENNIO MORRICONE

• Thursday, July 28. INDIE ROCK: PAINTED FACES, BIG NURSE

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, EARTHLINGS

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Friday, Oct. 7. GUITARTOWN MUSIC

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL