Members’ Choice Film Screening: Breakout Jennifer Lawrence role in “Winter’s Bone” on Mon., Dec. 12

We asked for your input and we got a response! Starting on Monday, Nov. 21, and into December we present a new film series based on favorites chosen by Best Video Film & Cultural Center members. Each movie starts at 7 PM and admission is $7.

WINTERS BONE 1SHT.indd

On Monday, Dec. 12, BVFCC screens the 2010 feature “Winter’s Bone,” starring Jennifer Lawrence in her breakout role. Based on the novel by Daniel Woodrell and directed by Debra Granik, “Winter’s Bone” is a taut drama set in the Ozarks amid a milieu of poverty and drug dealing. The film was nominated for four Academy Awards. BVFCC member Marianna Ridley proposed the screening of “Winter’s Bone.”

A New York Times Critic’s Pick, “Winter’s Bone” was described by critic A.O. Scott as “straightforward and suspenseful but also surprising and subtle.”

Reviewing “Winter’s Bone” upon its release in 2010, Roger Ebert wrote:

This world is established with bleak economy in the opening scenes of Debra Granik’s “Winter’s Bone,” which was a double prize winner at Sundance 2010. Unmistakably filmed on location, this film focuses on a society that has been left behind. It looks like Walker Evans’ photographs of the rural Depression, brought forward to today. The unanswered question is how Ree Dolly grew up in this world and became strong, self-reliant and proud. She didn’t learn it from her parents.

This is the remainder of the schedule with the members who proposed the films (some of these BVFCC members will be introducing and discussing their film).

Dec. 12: “WINTER’S BONE” (Marianna Ridley)

Dec. 19: “CONTACT” (Rochelle Stackhouse)

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Dec. 8. AMERICANA: SEPIATONE

• Friday, Dec. 9. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY BAND (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Monday, Dec. 12. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “WINTER’S BONE”

• Thursday, Dec. 15. JAZZ: THE AFRO-SEMITIC DUO (DAVID CHEVAN & WARREN BYRD)

• Friday, Dec. 16. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Saturday, Dec. 17. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE GOONIES” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Dec. 19. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CONTACT”

• Wednesday, Dec. 21. AVANT-GARDE: RYAN KARHART

• Thursday, Dec. 22. HOLIDAY CONCERT: ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Dec. 23. ROOTS ROCK & HOLIDAY TUNES: BRONSON ROCK

• Thursday, Dec. 29. JAZZ: MICHAEL COPPOLA

• Wednesday, Jan. 4. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE FURORS

• Friday, Jan. 6. ACOUSTIC FOLK BLUES & MORE: VANGE DURST

• Saturday, Jan. 7. MUSIC OF “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, Jan. 13. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Thursday, Jan. 19. GOTH/SHOEGAZE: TELEGRAM SCAM

• Friday, Jan. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Friday, Jan. 27. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Friday, Feb. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Feb. 10. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING, PAUL BELBUSTI

• Friday, Feb. 24. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE