Music: Washboard Slim & The Bluelights play Fri., June 14, at 7:30 PM

Washboard Slim & The Bluelights play Best Video Performance Space on Friday, June 14. The show starts at 7:30 PM and the cover is $10.

After 40 years of playing together, Washboard Slim and the Bluelights has evolved into one of the country’s most versatile and original of jug bands.

Incorporating pure Americana instruments like tub bass, washboard, jug, banjo, harmonica, and fiddle, adding drums and powerful vocal harmonies, this band rocks sold-out concerts, dance halls and family shows. Playing their own compositions as well as original arrangements of traditional gospel and blues tunes, their music is by turns playful and haunted. It’s no wonder legendary blues/folk artist, Eric Von Schmidt described Washboard Slim and the Bluelights as “traditional music on overdrive.”

The members of Washboard Slim & the Blue Lights are Peter Menta (aka Washboard Slim, drums, harmonica, kazoo, washboard, vocals), Brooks Barnett (accordion, banjo, drums, guitar, mandolin, piano, vocals), Howie Horn (banjo, jug, washtub bass, vocals), Mat Kastner (banjo, guitar, National steel guitar), Johnny Pendergast (guitar, fiddle, mandolin, vocals),and Lauren Agnelli (guitar, ukelele, kazoo, vocals).

Click here for the complete list of upcoming events.

UPDATE 2/20—Cancelled due to snow concerns—Music: Jug band tunes from The Howling Hound Dogs Wed., Feb. 20

UPDATE 2/20:

Due to concerns over snow and the fact that band members live a good distance from Hamden, tonight’s planned show at Best Video Film & Cultural Center with The Howling Hound Dogs jug band is cancelled.

The Howling Hound Dogs play Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Feb. 20. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

The Howling Hound Dogs are a fun, upbeat washboard trio who play swing standards from the 20’s to the 50’s as well as folk and blues tunes, modern arrangements and funny originals. Their shows include ukulele, guitar, kazoo, harmonica, mandolin, banjo, washboard, jug and even spoons!

As a band and as soloists they’ve appeared at festivals, town concerts, senior facilities, libraries, the New Haven Festival of Arts and Ideas, Nashville’s Bluebird Café and on TV and radio. Thew members of The Howling Hound Dogs are Peter Magrane, Lou Manzi and Tom McVerry.

Music: Washboard Slim & The Bluelights with 3 Divas Sat., Dec. 1, at

Left to right, Lauren Agnelli, Lynn Malavolti and Jackie Sidle.

Washboard Slim & The Bluelights presents three Connecticut roots music divas—Lynn Malavolti and Jackie Sidle with their own Lauren Agnelli —at Best Video Performance Space on Saturday, Dec. 1. The show starts at 7:30 PM and the cover is $10.

After 40 years of playing together, Washboard Slim and the Bluelights has evolved into one of the country’s most versatile and original of jug bands.

Incorporating pure Americana instruments like tub bass, washboard, jug, banjo, harmonica, and fiddle, adding drums and powerful vocal harmonies, this band rocks sold-out concerts, dance halls and family shows. Playing their own compositions as well as original arrangements of traditional gospel and blues tunes, their music is by turns playful and haunted. It’s no wonder legendary blues/folk artist, Eric Von Schmidt described Washboard Slim and the Bluelights as “traditional music on overdrive.”

The members of Washboard Slim & the Blue Lights are Peter Menta (aka Washboard Slim, drums, harmonica, kazoo, washboard, vocals), Brooks Barnett (accordion, banjo, drums, guitar, mandolin, piano, vocals), Howie Horn (banjo, jug, washtub bass, vocals), Mat Kastner (banjo, guitar, National steel guitar), Johnny Pendergast (guitar, fiddle, mandolin, vocals),and Lauren Agnelli (guitar, ukelele, kazoo, vocals).

Lauren Agnelli is a prolific songwriter, singer, guitarist, ukelele and kazoo player, She started out as rock writer (for the Village Voice & Creem, mainly) in the ‘70’s and then switched into primarily making music onstage and in the studio. She joined the ranks of the “new wavers” from the CBGBs/Max’s scene in the ’70’s — with a band called Nervus Rex, who recorded an album in 1979 with “Commander” Mike Chapman. After an 18-month sojourn in England, she co-founded and played in the Washington Squares in the ’80’s. In the early ‘90’s, Lauren joined forces with Texas band Brave Combo to record the disc Kiss of Fire.  Lauren and Brave Combo toured to support the album and appeared at South by Southwest to a packed crowd of hundreds. In 2003 Lauren married and moved to CT, to a small town called Chester. Lauren started to return to her folkie/Americana roots. As luck always has it, opportunity knocked in late 2015. Lauren was asked to join Washboard Slim and the Blue Lights.

A “cool chick with hot licks,” singer Lynn Malavolti also plays guitar and flute and studied music at Western Connecticut State University. A favorite at Cafe Nine, Malavolti has been a soloist with area blues and rock bands. Mentors on vocals and guitar were Robert Crotty, M.Mennone, and E. Green and on flute, Mary Ludovico.

Jackie Sidle is an actress and singer who has performed with Nu Haven Kapelye and other groups.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Wednesday, Nov. 28, 7:30 PM. INDIE FOLK: CLARA ENGEL; ART SONG: AN HISTORIC

• Thursday, Nov. 29. JCC PRESENTS “SIMPSONS” WRITER MIKE REISS, author of “SPRINGFIELD CONFIDENTIAL”

• Friday, Nov. 30, 8 PM. BLUEGRASS/AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Saturday, Dec. 1. BLUES/JUG BAND MUSIC: WASHBOARD SLIM & THE BLUE LIGHTS

• Sunday, Dec. 2, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Dec. 5. BLUES: CODA BLUE

• Thursday, Dec. 6, 7:30 PM. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: FRANK CRITELLI, RICHARD NEAL, BOB CSUGIE, MARK MIRANDO

• Friday, Dec. 7, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Dec. 8. INDIE ROCK: AUDIO JANE, THE SAWTELLES

• Monday, Dec. 10, 7:30 PM. TRIVIA 237—A BEST VIDEO MONTHLY TRIVIA NIGHT

• Tuesday, Dec. 11, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Dec. 12, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Dec. 13. GYPSY JAZZ: DJANGO’S RESERVE

• Friday, Dec. 14. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS with TONY LOMBARDOZZI

• Sunday, Dec. 16, 2-4 PM. MONTHLY IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Dec. 17. ONE MAN SHOW: SAL ANNUNZIATO—PART OF THE FAMILY: A MOB CHILDHOOD

• Tuesday, Dec. 18, 8 PM. COMEDY: REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP SHOW with HOST KENDRA DAWSEY

• Wednesday, Dec. 20. JAZZ: TONY PURRONE

Thursday, Dec. 20. INDIE ROCK: ZERO YEARS

• Friday, Dec. 21, 7:30 PM. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL CHRISTMAS SHOW: DUST HAT, BRONSON ROCK

• Thursday, Dec. 27. INDIE ROCK: NO IDEA, BONSAI TREES

• Friday, Dec. 28. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: MATT BENNETT, QUINN LINDSAY

• Wednesday, Jan. 2. AMBIENT/INDIE ROCK: THE FOREST ROOM, BEN HECHT, EVELYN GARY (Rescheduled from November 15)

• Friday, Jan. 4. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE SPARKOMATICS, TOM HEARN

• Saturday, Jan. 5, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: NATA SABAT/MARK KILIANSKI DUO; DAVID SASSO/KAT WALLACE DUO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Jan. 6. GUITARTOWN SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Jan. 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Wednesday, Jan. 9, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Jan. 10. EXPERIMENTAL: UNDERWEAR plus TBA

• Monday, Jan. 14. ONE MAN SHOW: SAL ANNUNZIATO—PART OF THE FAMILY: A MOB CHILDHOOD

• Wednesday, Jan. 16. POP/ROCK: YOUTH XL, ROB NELSON

• Sunday, Jan. 20, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Jan. 21, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Jan. 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Sunday, Feb. 3. GUITARTOWN SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Feb. 4. MONTHLY MOVIE-RELATED TRIVIA NIGHT: TRIVIA-237

• Thursday, Feb. 7. INDIE FOLK: PODUNK THROWBACKS; Klezmer: KLEZMER FUSION COLLECTIVE

• Friday, Feb. 8. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Wednesday, Feb. 13. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Sunday, Feb. 17, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Feb. 18, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, Feb. 22. BLUES/ROCK: VANGE DURST

• Saturday, Mar. 2. INDIE POP ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Sunday, Mar. 3. GUITARTOWN SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Mar. 4. MONTHLY MOVIE-RELATED TRIVIA NIGHT: TRIVIA-237

• Tuesday, Mar. 5, 7 PM. LITERARY: A READING FOR AL-MUTANABBI STREET—DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Friday, Mar. 8. INDIE ROCK: PHEOBE

• Wednesday, Mar. 13. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Sunday, Mar. 17, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Mar. 18, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, Apr. 5. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA

• Wednesday, April 17. ACOUSTIC FOLK ROCK: PAUL DECOSTER, EXPERIMENTAL ACOUSTIC: KAREN HOGG

• Thursday, May 30. IMPROVISED MUSIC: URS LEIMGRUBER, ADAM MATLOCK