Music: Paul Belbusti, Leila Crockett on Wed., July 23, at 8 PM

JUST ANNOUNCED! Singer-songwriters Paul Belbusti (aka Mercy Choir) and Leila Crockett (aka Baby G) will perform solo sets at the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, July 23. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Paul Belbusti at Best Video in January, 2014

Paul Belbusti at Best Video in January, 2014

Mercy Choir is the songwriting/recording/performing project of Paul Belbusti. The music has been described using any and all of the following terms: acoustic, folk, noise, psychedelic, rock, electroacoustic, outsider, indie, freak folk, bad, good, weird, beautiful, ugly, impressive, depressing, disappointing, metal, quiet, loud, authentic, fake, electronic, digital, analog, pretentious, hifi, lofi, etc. In a review on CT.com in 2012, Chip McCabe referred to Mercy Choir as “one of the best one-man projects to come out of CT in recent memory.”

Leila aka “Baby G(guitar)” Crockett is a native of New Haven, CT. Her influences vary greatly from genre to time period. Leila’s writing style relies on blues, jazz, americana to the occasional march or waltz. Her voice has been described as angelic while her lyrics can be whip smart while attempting social consciousness or self disclosure.

Leila "Baby G" Crockett

Leila “Baby G” Crockett

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Wednesday, July 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOY IKE

• Thursday, June 17. ROCK ‘N’ SOUL: BRONSON ROCK

• Friday, July 18. SURF MUSIC/ROCKABILLY: THE SIX PACK DUTCHMEN, TOM HEARN

• Wednesday, July 23. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PAUL BELBUSTI (MERCY CHOIR); LEILA CROCKETT (BABY G)

• Thursday, July 24. PROGRESSIVE FOLK ROCK: KINDRED QUEER

• Friday, July 25. EXPERIMENTAL GHOST POP: SIRENS

• Tuesday, July 29. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS AND HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, JULY 30, SOLO ACOUSTIC GUITAR: ROBERT MESSORE

• Thursday, July 31. ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Aug. 1. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI

• Monday, Aug. 4. LECTURE: MARK SCHENCKER DISCUSSES “THE REAL WORLD OF DOWNTON ABBEY”

• Thursday, Aug. 7. FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, Aug. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS (PONYBIRD); SAM PERDUTA

• Monday, Aug. 11. FILM SCREENING AND DISCUSSION: WITNESS

• Wednesday, Aug. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 14. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET

• Monday, Aug. 18. FILM SCREENING: DANNY SAYS (ROUGH CUT)

• Wednesday, Aug. 20. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 21. ROCK: ROPE

• Friday, Aug. 22. CABARET: RICH MORAN

• Thursday, Aug. 28. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Sept. 5. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Wednesday, Sept. 10. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Sept. 19. INDIE ROCK: EURISKO

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR