Music: The Lys Guillorn Band, Julie Beman & Eric Bloomquist play Fri., Aug. 5

Lys_Guillorn_Band_BV_082015_Web

The Lys Guillorn Band

The Lys Guillorn Band headlines at Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Aug. 5. The wife-husband duo of Julie Beman & Eric Bloomquist open. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Lys Guillorn is a singer/songwriter of the same musical school as Laura Veirs and Kristin Hersh, with a little Emmylou Harris thrown in: dreamy, lyric-driven, melodically interesting, and indefinable.  She makes “oddly uplifting, folk, blues, country-infused, acoustic semi-electric psychedelic dark pop music.” (Geraint Jones, Comes With a Smile, UK). In recent years, Guillorn has released a full-length CD, an EP, and a collection of compilation tracks on her own Little Cowgirl Records. She released her second full-length CD of original material, “Winged Victory,” in November, 2013.

Reviewing her album on CTNow.com, Chip McCabe wrote:

She comes at the listener not only with a full band  in tow, but also with a cavalcade of guest musicians and a litany of her own instruments, each of which she’s extremely adept at. On this album Guillorn’s brand of folksy Americana is drenched in 60’s pop harmonies and an indie rock aesthetic. While she’s not afraid to bust out the lap steel, she’s also not afraid to incorporate the occasional cello accompaniment or horn section. It’s an album that’s pretty indicative of an artist who’s spent time floating in and out of varying genres for the last few years and coming back home to incorporate some of that into her own work. Again, positive musical experiences meeting with raw talent on wide open display here.

The wife-and-husband duo of Julie Beman (vocals and keyboards) and Eric Bloomquist (bass and vocals) make pop music. Beman and Bloomquist have previously played Best Video Performance Space with their group The Dress-Ups. Julie’s songs have been described as “dreamy, with a surreal depth” by Christopher Aloysius Mariotti of Lonesome Noise. Lys Guillorn, singer/songwriter, has called Julie’s songs “gorgeous, infused with wonder and smart wordplay.”

Julie Beman, left, and Eric Bloomquist, right, on bass when The Dress-Ups played Best Video Performance Space in 2014.

Julie Beman, left, and Eric Bloomquist, right, on bass when The Dress-Ups played Best Video Performance Space in 2014.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, July 27. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS PRESENTS THE MUSIC OF ENNIO MORRICONE

• Thursday, July 28. DIY/EXPERIMENTAL: PAINTED FACES, BIG NURSE

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Monday, Aug. 1. FILM SCREENING: “THE TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Aug. 3. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, Aug. 4. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: THE NAMELESS TRIO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, JULIE BEMAN & ERIC BLOOMQUIST

• Monday, Aug. 8. FILM SCREENING: “MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION”

• Wednesday, Aug. 10. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Thursday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Aug. 12. INDIE/DIY/QUEERCORE: LADY QUEEN PARADISE, ADULT MOM, SPACE CAMP

• Wednesday, Aug. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE, TINY OCEAN

• Thursday, Aug. 18. ROCK: THE RIGHT-OFFS

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Sunday, Aug. 21. INDIE ROCK: WALTER, ETC.; BLOWOUT, 1 more TBA

• Wednesday, Aug. 24. OLD-TIMEY/BLUES: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Aug. 25. JAZZ: BRIAN JARAWA GRAY

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Aug. 30. BLUES/FOLK: CODA BLUE, THE RED HOTS

• Friday, Sept. 2. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Friday, Sept. 9. ROCK: THE FURORS

• Thursday, Sept. 15. FOLK/SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 16. ROCK: LA TUNDA

• Saturday, Sept. 17. BLUEGRASS/SWING: TOO BLUE

• Thursday, Sept. 22. PIANO MUSIC: DONALD ALFANO

• Friday, Sept. 23. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING: “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Tuesday, Sept. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH

• Wednesday, Sept. 28. BRAZILIAN CHORO MUSIC: ROGÉRIO SOUZA, EDINHO GERBER & STEPHEN GUERRA

• Friday, Sept. 30. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

 

Music: Lys Guillorn Band, Calvin DeCutlass live Thurs., Aug. 20, at 8 PM

Lys_Guillorn_BV_021215_02_WebLys Guillorn & Her Band play the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Aug. 20. Calvin DeCutlass opens. The cover charge is $5 and the music starts at 8 PM.

Lys Guillorn is a singer/songwriter of the same musical school as Laura Veirs and Kristin Hersh, with a little Emmylou Harris thrown in: dreamy, lyric-driven, melodically interesting, and indefinable.  She makes “oddly uplifting, folk, blues, country-infused, acoustic semi-electric psychedelic dark pop music.” (Geraint Jones, Comes With a Smile, UK). In recent years, Guillorn has released a full-length CD, an EP, and a collection of compilation tracks on her own Little Cowgirl Records. She released her second full-length CD of original material, “Winged Victory,” in November, 2013.

Chip McCabe reviewed her album on CTNow.com, writing:

She comes at the listener not only with a full band  in tow, but also with a cavalcade of guest musicians and a litany of her own instruments, each of which she’s extremely adept at. On this album Guillorn’s brand of folksy Americana is drenched in 60’s pop harmonies and an indie rock aesthetic. While she’s not afraid to bust out the lap steel, she’s also not afraid to incorporate the occasional cello accompaniment or horn section. It’s an album that’s pretty indicative of an artist who’s spent time floating in and out of varying genres for the last few years and coming back home to incorporate some of that into her own work. Again, positive musical experiences meeting with raw talent on wide open display here.

Calvin DeCutlass emerged as a singer-songwriter and guitarist in the New Haven scene during the early aughts with his bands The Tires and The Nortons (with local legend James Velvet and Johnny Java). He plays what Patrick Ferrucci of the New Haven Register called “intelligent, country-tinged folk rock” and he once tried out for the New Haven Cutters.

Calvin DeCutlass

Calvin DeCutlass

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Aug. 12. ELECTRONIC IMPROVISATION: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI & DEREK PIOTR

• Thursday, Aug. 13. INDIE FOLK: KINDRED QUEER

• Friday, Aug. 14. ROCK: THE FURORS, TOM HEARN

• Wednesday, Aug. 19. FOLK: WALKINGWOOD MANDOLIN QUARTET

• Thursday, Aug. 20. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, CALVIN DeCUTLASS

• Friday, Aug. 21. BLUEGRASS: FIDDLE FOREVER

• Tuesday, Aug. 25. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Aug. 27. AMERICANA: PATRICK DALTON & MIKE SKAGGS

• Friday, Aug. 28. FILM SCREENING: “HEAD” (CT-PRODUCED LIVE PUPPET HORROR FEATURE)

• Friday, Sept. 4. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Wednesday, Sept. 9. COMEDY OPEN MIC WITH JAKE NIETOPSKI

• Thursday, Sept. 10. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA

• Friday, Sept. 11. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNW MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Sept. 16. CARIBBEAN/FOLK: LUKE RODNEY

• Friday, Sept. 18. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN

• Tuesday, Sept. 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: HANNAH FAIR

• Wednesday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANGELA EASTERLING

• Thursday, Oct. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI

• Friday, Oct. 23. ALT-COUNTRY: TANNERSVILLE

• Friday, Oct. 30. HALLOWEEN FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

Music: Indie rock and folk with Lys Guillorn Band Wed., Apr. 3, at 8 PM

The Lys Guillorn Band plays the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Apr. 3. The cover charge is $5 and the music starts at 8 PM.

lys_guillorn_look_left_small1_Web

Lys Guillorn is a singer/songwriter of the same musical school as Laura Veirs and Kristin Hersh, with a little Emmylou Harris thrown in: dreamy, lyric-driven, melodically interesting, and indefinable.  She makes “oddly uplifting, folk, blues, country-infused, acoustic semi-electric psychedelic dark pop music.” (Geraint Jones, Comes With a Smile, UK). In recent years, Guillorn has released a full-length CD, an EP, and a collection of compilation tracks on her own Little Cowgirl Records. She is working on her second full-length CD of original material. At the Best Video Performance Space on April 3, she will perform with her full band.

Vincent Bator profiled Guillorn in the Hartford Indie Music Examiner last April, writing:

Labeling the 38-year old Guillorn’s musical style is too confining and counter-intuitive, but a starting point is her reverence for distinctly American music. Neither a straight-ahead purist nor a campy reinterpreter of the country and folk classics she’s obviously influenced by, Guillorn’s voice is authentic, stark and refreshing…

While she’s invariably compared to artists like Laura Veirs, Emmylou Harris and Kristen Hersh, it’s not a stretch to add Lisa Germano and Lucinda Williams to the list of comparisons. There’s an element of subtle experimentalism in both her songcraft and recordings; like Germano’s, and a subtext of world-weariness in her vocals similar to Williams’. On the surface, the songs’ arrangements seem conventional, but below it, odd tunings and bits of sound collage-y stuff give texture and true artistry to the tunes. Guillorn’s voice is at times restrained, hushed and ragged — no histronics here.

Guillorn was interviewed for Chip’s Unnamed Local Band show and played one of her songs. Watch:

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Thursday, Apr. 4. CLASSICAL/BRAZILIAN: HAVEN STRING QUARTET with SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Apr. 10. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Thursday, Apr. 11. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Apr. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ESTHER GOLTON

• Monday, Apr. 22. FILM SCREENING FOR “WHAT WOULD YOU DO?” SERIES: “WALK ON WATER”

• Thursday, Apr. 25. JAZZ: THE NICK Di MARIA QUARTET

• Sunday, May 5. FILM SCREENING & DISCUSSION: “ALL ME: THE LIFE AND TIMES OF WINFRED REMBERT”

• Wednesday, May 8. INDIE ROCK: POOLS ARE NICE, BUCK McGRANE