Music: Mercy Choir on Wed., June 25, at 8 PM

Mercy_Choir_WebMercy Choir plays the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, June 25. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Mercy Choir is the songwriting and recording project of New Haven, CT based musician Paul Belbusti. Over the past decade, Paul has produced a large quantity of critically acclaimed music ranging from abstract experiments to more traditional pop and rock and roll. His latest releases include the scattershot “His Noiseless Ball, His Boxwood Rattle” and the punishing experimental “PPIANO.”

Paul Belbusti plays guitar and sings, Tim Goselin plays bass, Chris Zollo is on keyboards and Sachin Ramabhadran plays drums.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, June 11. LITERARY READING: ALICE MATTISON, SANDI KAHN SHELTON

• Thursday, June 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, June 13. FOLK: ROBERT MESSORE

• Wednesday, June 18. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, June 19. GARAGE POP/PSYCHEDELIC ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Wednesday, June 25. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Thursday, June 26. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, June 27. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU

• Sunday, June 29. BEST VIDEO FUNDRAISER

• Wednesday, July 2. ROCK: EXTRASENSORY

• Thursday, July 3. BUOYANT POP ROCK: THE FURORS

• Wednesday, July 9. CLASSICAL GUITAR: ORPHÉE RUSSELL

• Thursday, July 10. FOLK: THE HEATH SISTERS

• Thursday, July 24. PROGRESSIVE FOLK ROCK: KINDRED QUEER

• Thursday, July 31. ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Aug. 1. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI

• Wednesday, Aug. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET

 

Kevin MF King/Paul Belbusti show, scheduled for tomorrow, postponed to Jan. 16 due to weather

The show scheduled for Thursday evening, Jan. 2, featuring Kevin MF King and Paul Belbusti (Mercy Choir), is being postponed to Thursday, Jan. 16, due to the pending snowstorm.

Kevin MF King and Paul Belbusti (Mercy Choir) will perform separate sets at the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Jan. 16. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Kevin MF King’s songs run amok with topics such as work drudgery, self-reflection, escapism, the debauchery displayed in modern politics and the process of human interaction, at times using fictional folk tales to tell a story, others just beautiful instrumentals. KMFK has more than 100 self-recorded songs regularly distributed on self-released hand-stamped cds.

Mercy Choir is the songwriting/recording/performing project of Paul Belbusti – a man from the New Haven area of Connecticut. The music has been described using any and all of the following terms: acoustic, folk, noise, psychedelic, rock, electroacoustic, outsider, indie, freak folk, bad, good, weird, beautiful, ugly, impressive, depressing, disappointing, metal, quiet, loud, authentic, fake, electronic, digital, analog, pretentious, hifi, lofi, etc.

(UPDATED) Music: Kevin MF King, Paul Belbusti (Mercy Choir) on Thurs., Jan. 16, at 8 PM

Kevin_MF_King_BV_Web

Kevin MF King

UPDATE: This show, originally show scheduled for Thursday evening, Jan. 2, featuring Kevin MF King and Paul Belbusti (Mercy Choir), has been postponed to Thursday, Jan. 16, due to the snowstorm.

Kevin MF King and Paul Belbusti (Mercy Choir) will perform separate sets at the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Jan. 16. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Kevin MF King’s songs run amok with topics such as work drudgery, self-reflection, escapism, the debauchery displayed in modern politics and the process of human interaction, at times using fictional folk tales to tell a story, others just beautiful instrumentals. KMFK has more than 100 self-recorded songs regularly distributed on self-released hand-stamped cds.

Paul Belbusti (Mercy Choir)

Paul Belbusti (Mercy Choir)

Mercy Choir is the songwriting/recording/performing project of Paul Belbusti, who is based in New Haven. The music has been described using any and all of the following terms: acoustic, folk, noise, psychedelic, rock, electroacoustic, outsider, indie, freak folk, bad, good, weird, beautiful, ugly, impressive, depressing, disappointing, metal, quiet, loud, authentic, fake, electronic, digital, analog, pretentious, hi-fi, lo-fi, etc.

In a review on CT.com in 2012, Chip McCabe referred to Mercy Choir as “one of the best one-man projects to come out of CT in recent memory.” McCabe wrote about Mercy Choir’s “The Very Great and Horrible Harshness” album:

Mercy Choir pulls in from a lot of different influences.  The first three tracks on the album – “The Song I Have Hoped To Write”, “GUN”, and “Chalk It Up” – remind me a lot of the solo work of Syd Barrett, which is not a bad thing at all.  Other tracks on this album do well to mix the old with the new as styles like 70’s German krautrock intermingle with today’s psych folk pioneers.  There are multiple examples on this album of how one man can create unique and beautiful music all in the comfort of his own living room.  “Ain’t It Groovy” for example is a gorgeous piece of music, with a guitar that just kind of floats like a bird against the wind.  And speaking of birds, the song “Bird” literally sounds to me like something I may have heard in a Stanley Kubrick film – that sort of heavily synthesized, dreamy, yet dark piece of music saved for the most stunning of scenes.

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Jan. 8. JAZZ: BRETT BOTTOMLEY (Just announced!)

• Thursday, Jan. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SOLIN

• Wednesday, Jan. 15. FILM SCREENING: “THE THIRD MAN”

• Thursday, Jan. 16. SINGER/SONGWRITER: KEVIN MF KING, PAUL BELBUSTI (MERCY CHOIR)

• Wednesday, Jan. 22. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA (Just announced!)

• Thursday, Jan. 23. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ILANA ZSIGMOND

• Wednesday, Jan. 29. INDIE ROCK: SOZIO (Just announced!)

• Thursday, Jan. 30. PSYCHO-FOLK: MILKSOP: UNSUNG

• Wednesday, Feb. 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Thursday, Feb. 6. ROCK: THE DRESS-UPS

• Wednesday, Feb. 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ARTIST FORMERLY KNOWN AS PAT STONE

• Thursday, Feb. 13. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: BIG FAT COMBO (Just announced!)

• Thursday, Feb. 20. BLUEGRASS: 5 IN THE CHAMBER

• Wednesday, Apr. 2. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, Apr. 17. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE LONESOME SPARROWS (Just announced!)