Music: Contra dance, swing & bluegrass from The Fiddleheads on Wed., May 27, at 8 PM

Fiddleheads_WebThe Fiddleheads play Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, May 27. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

The Fiddleheads have been playing for dancing in the Yale/New Haven area since 1978. A venerable New Haven band/institution, the group has been playing under the Fiddleheads’ name for the past 34 years in the Yale/New Haven area. Past members include Michael Koenigsberg, Ellen Cohn, Skip Healy, Michael Bell, Paul Englesberg and Pete Spicer.

The current group is comprised of Willow on fiddle; Jim on banjo, bodhran, whistles and flutes; Gary on mango and ephemera; and Norman on guitar. Jim and Willow play in Celtic sessions while Gary plays lots of bluegrass. Norman is a stalwart of swing — combined, this is a very danceable mix! Combined with Jim and Gary’s change-up of instruments (banjo, whistles, flutes and bodrhan for Jim and mando-phoria for Gary) the music is great for a straight listening experience, as well.

Norman says the music the group plays is “string band, contradance, Celtic, Swing, Bluegrass — any or all of the above.”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Monday, May 18. FILM SCREENING: “HEY BOO: HARPER LEE & TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD”

• Wednesday, May 20. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: JAY PRINCE, PATRICK DALTON

• Thursday, May 21. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, May 22. ROCK: NOTHING SPECIAL

• Wednesday, May 27. BLUEGRASS: THE FIDDLEHEADS

• Thursday, May 28. SINGER-SONGWRITER; ACOUSTIC GUITARIST: SETH ADAM; GLENN ROTH

• Friday, May 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Thursday, June 4. AVANT-GARDE: ZERO DOLLAR, PARLAY DRONER

• Friday, June 5. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Monday, June 8. FILM SCREENING: “FINDING TATANKA”

• Wednesday, June 10. SINGER-SONGWRITER: KATH BLOOM, DAN GREENE

• Thursday, June 11. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS & THE CYGNET SISTERS

• Friday, June 12. BLUEGRASS: THE WOOL HATS STRING BAND

• Thursday, June 18: SILENT FILM with MUSIC: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT scores “THE CABINET OF DR. CALIGARI”

• Friday, June 26. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Friday, July 17. PIANO POP/PAINTING: POCKET VINYL

• Wednesday, Aug. 26. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS