Film screening: “Birth of a Nation” continues pre-Oscars series Mon., Feb. 13

Best Video Film & Cultural Center’s next film series—showcasing Oscar-contending films—continues on Monay, Feb. 13, with a screening of “Birth of a Nation.” An historical drama, “Birth of a Nation”  is a dramatization of the 1831 slave uprising in Virginia led by Nat Turner..

The five remaining films will be shown on the next five successive Monday nights. All screenings start at 7:15 PM. Admission to individual movies is $7—free for members of Temple Beth Sholom—or the advance price for the entire series is $30. Purchasers of the full series pass ($30) are also entitled to $10 off the $25 cost of attending BVFCC’s Feb. 26 Oscar Day Brunch and Fundraiser.

“The Oscar Race—The Main Contenders” is co-sponsored by Temple Beth Sholom Adult Education. The films will be introduced by either Best Video founder Hank Paper or Temple Beth Sholom Rabbi Benjamin Scolnic. As always, feel free to stick around for the optional post-film conversations.

Directed by and starring Nate Parker, “Birth of a Nation” was mentioned as a possible Oscar contender early on. However, the film and its crew did not, in the end, garner any nominations due in part to Parker’s alleged involvement as a perpetrator of a sexual assault when he was in college.

As New York Times critic A.O. Scott noted in his review of the movie, “‘The Birth of a Nation,’ Nate Parker’s debut feature as a director, presents an unusually vexing and complicated case. In the months between its debut at the Sundance Film Festival in January and its release this Friday, the movie — which dramatizes the slave rebellion led by Nat Turner in Virginia in 1831 — has found itself on both sides of the argument, simultaneously the must-see and the won’t-see movie of the year.”

But Scott adds:

The movie, uneven as it is, has terrific momentum and passages of concentrated visual beauty. The acting is strong even when the script wanders into thickets of rhetoric and mystification. And despite its efforts to simplify and italicize the story, it’s admirably difficult, raising thorny questions about ends and means, justice and mercy, and the legacy of racism that lies at the root of our national identity. There is still a lot of reckoning to be done. Birth is a messy business. And so is what comes after.

We are very excited about this series, which features a lineup of films sure to spark some invigorating discussions.

The remaining schedule:

Mon., Feb. 13: “Birth of a Nation”
Mon., Feb. 20: “Arrival”
Mon., Feb. 27: “Elle” “Hacksaw Ridge”
Mon., Mar. 6: “Manchester By the Sea”
Mon., Mar. 13: “Moonlight”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Feb. 9. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, Feb. 10. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING, MERCY CHOIR (solo)

• Monday, Feb. 13. FILM SERIES SCREENING: “BIRTH OF A NATION”

• Wednesday, Feb. 15. ROCK: LEFT ON SCARLET STREET

• Thursday, Feb. 16. ALT-COUNTRY/ROCK: NO LINE NORTH, BOP TWEEDIE

• Friday, Feb. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ALEX BLAIR

• Monday, Feb. 20. FILM SERIES SCREENING: “ARRIVAL”

• Wednesday, Feb. 22. JAZZ: THE PAUL SHANLEY QUARTET

• Thursday, Feb. 23. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Friday, Feb. 24. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Saturday, Feb. 25. PROTEST MUSIC CABARET: “SHALL WE TALK ABOUT THE GOVERNMENT?”

• Sunday, Feb. 26. “AND THE AWARD GOES TO…”: BVFCC OSCAR AWARDS BRUNCH/FUNDRAISER 4-6 PM

• Monday, Feb. 27. FILM SERIES SCREENING: “HACKSAW RIDGE”

• Wednesday, Mar. 1. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS (rescheduled from Feb. 9)

• Thursday, Mar. 2. SURF ROCK: THE CLAMS

• Monday, Mar. 6. FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MANCHESTER BY THE SEA”

• Wednesday, Mar. 8. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Saturday, Mar. 11. JAZZ: THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE PLAYS “BLACK, BROWN AND BEIGE; YELLOW, TRANS AND QUEER: MY COUNTRY ‘TIS OF THIS (A PROTEST SUITE COMPOSED BY ALLEN LOWE)

• Monday, Mar. 13. FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MOONLIGHT”

• Wednesday,  Mar. 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHULA WEINSTEIN & BEN ROSS

• Thursday, Mar. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM, KATHY MUIR

Friday, Mar. 17. INDIE ROCK: DISCO TEEN 66

• Wednesday, Mar. 22. CLASSICAL: 4-3-2-1: A EUPHONIUM AND FRIENDS PRODUCTION

• Friday, Mar. 24. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SINGER-SONGWRITER: BELLE OF THE FALL

• Saturday, Mar. 25. JAZZ: : THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE PLAYS “BLACK, BROWN AND BEIGE; YELLOW, TRANS AND QUEER: MY COUNTRY ‘TIS OF THIS (A PROTEST SUITE COMPOSED BY ALLEN LOWE)

• Wednesday, Mar. 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: LAMONT

• Thursday, Mar. 30. ALTERNATIVE/AMERICANA: THE WYRD BROTHERS

• Saturday, Apr. 1. CULT FILM SCREENING: TBA

• Thursday, Apr. 6. AVANT-GARDE: ELM FICTION

• Friday, Apr. 7. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Saturday, Apr. 8. CLASSICAL GUITAR: MAX LYMAN; AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: ALEXANDER

• Sunday, Apr. 9. REDSCROLL RECORDS SCREENING AND MUSIC

• Friday, Apr. 21. POP: THE DRESS-UPS

• Friday, Apr. 28. BLUEGRASS: THE SLOCAN RAMBLERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Saturday, May 6. CULT FILM SCREENING: TBA

• Friday, Sept. 15. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)