Music: Holiday neo-soul from The Human Race Wed., Dec. 17, at 8 PM

Dane Scozzari

Dane Scozzari

The Human Race performs a holiday-themed show at Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Dec. 17.The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

The Human Race is an American jazz/neo soul band led by Dane Scozzari. A graduate of the Jackie McLean Institute of Jazz, Scozzari has performed and recorded with several world-renowned musicians including Steve Davis, Nat Reeves, Rick Germanson, Sue Terry, Kris Allen, Ted Levine, Walter Gwardiak, Saskia Laroo and Warren Byrd.

The Human Race began as a college project in 2010, under the direction of drummer/composer Dane Scozzari. Since then, The Human Race has performed in Connecticut and Massachusetts, at venues such as Integrity ‘n’ Music, Cafe Nine, The Red Door Theatre and the Hartford Public Library. In addition to live appearances, the group has performed on Better Connecticut on WFSB Channel 3 hosted by Kara Sundlun and Scot Haney and In The Groove: Jazz and Beyond on WHUS 91.3 FM hosted by Ken Laster.

The Human Race has released two albums, “Profile of Humanity” (2010) and “It’s Christmastime Again” (2012) are available for purchase at BandCamp.com in both physical and digital formats.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Dec. 11. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Monday, Dec. 15. FILM SCREENING: “VISION”

• Wed., Dec. 17. HOLIDAY/NEO-SOUL: THE HUMAN RACE

• Thursday, Dec. 18. POST-PUNK: ZOO FRONT, KEVIN MF KING

• Friday, Dec. 19. ALT-COUNTRY: HEATHER FAY

• Sunday, Jan. 4. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY HITCHCOCK: “NOTORIOUS”

• Wednesday, Jan. 7. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: CRISTINA HARRIS, PATRICK DALTON

• Friday, Jan. 9. MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Sunday, Jan. 11. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY HITCHCOCK: “STRANGERS ON A TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Jan. 14. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Thursday, Jan. 15. SOLO ACOUSTIC GUITAR: ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Jan. 16. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Sunday, Jan. 18. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY HITCHCOCK: “REAR WINDOW”

• Sunday, Jan. 25. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY HITCHCOCK: “NORTH BY NORTHWEST”

• Friday, Jan. 30. JAZZ: URI SHAHAM

• Friday, Feb. 6. EXPERIMENTAL: RIVENER, LIGHT UPON BLIGHT