Music: Brilliant acoustic guitarist Daniel Bachman Wed., Nov. 23, with Alexander

Daniel Bachman, a master of American Primitive guitar playing, performs at Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Nov. 23. The show starts at 7:30 PM and the cover is $8. Tickets are available online through Brown Paper Tickets or at Best Video Film & Cultural Center. Alexander opens.

daniel_bachman_promo_web

Daniel Bachman

“One of modern guitar’s most dynamic performers” returns for his second ever show in Connecticut. Daniel will be touring on his self-titled LP from Three Lobed Recordings. A true fingerstyle guitar/musical genius.

Bachman’s newest, self-titled release  was previewed at the beginning of the month on their “First Listen” web page. Lars Gotrich writes, “At 26, Bachman is already an established and thoughtful voice in the solo guitar music scene, but he knows that evolution comes in steps, not leaps. Several albums in, Bachman has gone the self-titled route; it feels less like a chest-beating announcement and more like a wordless confirmation of where he’s at as a musician — and perhaps even as a person.”

From the Web site of Bachman’s label, Three Lobed Recordings:

Guitarist and former wunderkind Daniel Bachman, at 26, can no longer be considered precocious. On even his earliest recordings, released under the moniker sacred harp, Bachmans guitar prowess and compositional voice were staggeringly mature. There was something refreshingly novel about a guitarist not old enough to vote possessing such clarity of vision. But novelty wears off, and even the most big-eared benefactors are likely to become fickle and disinterested over time; the fans who do happen to stick around may begin to hold you to impossibly higher standards  after all, youre not a kid anymore.

And so it is a pleasure to hear Bachman, with his new self-titled album, so confidently answer the bell with an album that serves as both riposte and reckoning. If you’re not with Bachman now, the album seems to declare, you never were.

Alexander is the acoustic performing monicker of David Shapiro. Shapiro plays electric guitar as Lituya Bay and also plays drums with Stefan Christensen & Friends.

Alexander

Alexander

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Nov. 18. PARTY PUNK: TINY BOX BOOKING presents POSTURE & THE GRIZZLY, PRINCE DADDY & THE HYENA, MILKSHAKES, JUST FRIENDS (7 PM)

• Saturday, Nov. 19. JAZZ JAM with ALLEN LOWE, JEFF FULLER & ED CERCONE

• Monday, Nov. 21. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “RUNAWAY TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Nov. 23. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: DANIEL BACHMAN, ALEXANDER

• Friday, Nov. 25. BLUEGRASS/TRADITIONAL COUNTRY: DAVE PETERSON (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Nov. 26. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE INCREDIBLE JOURNEY” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Nov. 28. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CHARADE”

• Wednesday, Nov. 30. JAZZ: URI SHAHAM TRIO

• Thursday, Dec. 1. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: GLENN ROTH, SINGER-SONGWRITER: KRISTEN GRAVES

• Friday, Dec. 2. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES CD RELEASE SHOW, HANK HOFFMAN (solo)

• Sunday, Dec. 4. FREE FIRST SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM (PRESENTED BY GUITARTOWNCT)

• Monday, Dec. 5. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “PAT GARRETT & BILLY THE KID”

• Thursday, Sept. 8. AMERICANA: SEPIATONE

• Friday, Dec. 9. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY BAND (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Monday, Dec. 12. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “WINTER’S BONE”

• Friday, Dec. 16. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Saturday, Dec. 17. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE GOONIES” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Dec. 19. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CONTACT”

• Friday, Jan. 6. ACOUSTIC FOLK BLUES & MORE: VANGE DURST

• Saturday, Jan. 7. MUSIC OF “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, Jan. 13. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Friday, Jan. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Friday, Jan. 27. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

Music: Folk/Pop/Soul Singer Joy Ike on Wed., July 16, at 8 PM

Joy-Ike-6_WebJoy Ike plays the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, July 16. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Born to Nigerian immigrants, independent artist Joy Ike’s music, voice, and writing has drawn comparisons to female musicians such as Norah Jones, Corinne Bailey Rae, Regina Spektor, and Fiona Apple. But her percussive piano-playing and soaring vocals give homage to her African upbringing.

Leaving her career as a publicist in 2008, Ike has since played hundreds of shows across the Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, and Midwest. She has had the opportunity to share the stage and open for Jeffrey Gaines, Denison Whitmer, Deas Vail, Butterfly Boucher, Cody Chestnutt, Tyrone Wells, Najee, and Allen Toussaint, to name a few.

A write-up on NPR’s All Things Considered says, “The depth of subjects she tackles in her poetic lyrics are perfectly complemented by a unique blend of neo-soul, with just the right dash of pop…a truly compelling act to watch in person, with the ability to create an intimate setting in locations big and small.”

Joy Ike is currently on tour through the Northeast and will be accompanied by bandmates Jason Rafalak (upright bass) and Ryan Socrates (percussion). For more information, visit her Web site.

Watch Joy Ike performing “No Matter What” at the Trust Performing Arts Center:

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, July 9. CLASSICAL GUITAR: ORPHÉE RUSSELL

• Thursday, July 10. FOLK: THE HEATH SISTERS

• Wednesday, July 16. FOLK/POP/SOUL: JOY IKE

• Thursday, July 17. ROCK ‘N’ SOUL: BRONSON ROCK

• Friday, July 18. SURF MUSIC, ROCKABILLY: THE SIX PACK DUTCHMEN, TOM HEARN

• Thursday, July 24. PROGRESSIVE FOLK ROCK: KINDRED QUEER

• Tuesday, July 29. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS AND HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, July 30. FOLK MUSIC: ROBERT MESSORE

• Thursday, July 31. ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Aug. 1. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI

• Wednesday, Aug. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 14, ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET