Music: Orphée Russell on classical guitar Wed., July 9, at 8 PM

Orphée_Russell_at_Best_VideoOrphée Russell plays the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, July 9. He wowed the audiences the previous times he has played here. An award-winning graduate of the Neighborhood Music School in New Haven, Russell currently attends the Eastman School of Music. Russell plays classical guitar. The music starts at 8 PM. The cover charge for this show is $5.

A sampling of quotes from some prominent classical guitarists about Russell’s performance in the juried student recital at the National Guitar Workshop in the summer of 2010:

“Very poetic performance-you have a musical presence” — Julian Gray,  recording artist and faculty, Peabody Institute at Johns Hopkins  University

“Beautiful tone and sense of legato…Very lovely and expressive  playing” — Adam Holzman, recording artist and faculty, University of  Texas at Austin

“You have such a wonderful sense of phrasing / timing – very mature  musically…You are a beautiful young player” — Martha Masters,  recording artist and faculty, Loyola Marymount University

“You brought a lot of poise and depth of feeling to this performance”  — Marc Teicholz, recording artist and faculty, San Francisco  Conservatory

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, June 27. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU

• Sunday, June 29. BEST VIDEO FUNDRAISER

• Wednesday, July 2. ROCK: EXTRASENSORY

• Thursday, July 3. BUOYANT POP ROCK: THE FURORS

• Wednesday, July 9. CLASSICAL GUITAR: ORPHÉE RUSSELL

• Thursday, July 10. FOLK: THE HEATH SISTERS

• Wednesday, July 16. FOLK/POP/SOUL: JOY IKE

• Thursday, July 17. ROCK ‘N’ SOUL: BRONSON ROCK

• Friday, July 18. SURF MUSIC, ROCKABILLY: THE SIX PACK DUTCHMEN, TOM HEARN

• Thursday, July 24. PROGRESSIVE FOLK ROCK: KINDRED QUEER

• Tuesday, July 29. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS AND HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, July 30. FOLK MUSIC: ROBERT MESSORE

• Thursday, July 31. ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Aug. 1. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI

• Wednesday, Aug. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 14, ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET

 

Music: Orphée Russell on classical guitar Thurs., July 18, at 8 PM

Orphée_Russell_at_Best_VideoOrphée Russell wowed the audiences in the Best Video Performance Space the two times he has played here. An award-winning graduate of the Neighborhood Music School in New Haven, Russell currently attends the Eastman School of Music. Russell plays classical guitar. The music starts at 8 PM. The cover charge for this show is $5.

A sampling of quotes from some prominent classical guitarists about Russell’s performance in the juried student recital at the National Guitar Workshop in the summer of 2010:

“Very poetic performance-you have a musical presence” — Julian Gray,  recording artist and faculty, Peabody Institute at Johns Hopkins  University

“Beautiful tone and sense of legato…Very lovely and expressive  playing” — Adam Holzman, recording artist and faculty, University of  Texas at Austin

“You have such a wonderful sense of phrasing / timing – very mature  musically…You are a beautiful young player” — Martha Masters,  recording artist and faculty, Loyola Marymount University

“You brought a lot of poise and depth of feeling to this performance”  — Marc Teicholz, recording artist and faculty, San Francisco  Conservatory

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Wednesday, July 10. ACOUSTIC FOLK: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Thursday, July 11. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Wednesday, July 17. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Wednesday, July 18. CLASSICAL GUITAR: ORPHÉE RUSSELL

• Monday, July 22. FILM SCREENING: “ARRANGED”

• Wednesday, July 24. SINGER-SONGWRITER/INDIE: SAMUEL BASS, KEVIN MF KING

• Thursday, July 25. AVANT-GARDE_IMPROVISATION: FUCHSPRELLEN, COLORGUARD

• Monday, July 29. FILM SCREENING: “INTRUDER IN THE DUST”

• Wednesday, July 31. INDIE PSYCH/POP: M.T. BEARINGTON

• Thursday, Aug. 1. IMPROVISATION/WORLD MUSIC: SUPER TRANCE

• Monday, Aug. 5. FILM SCREENING: “ONLY HUMAN”

• Wednesday, Aug. 7. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Aug. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ILANA ZSIGMOND

• Monday, Aug. 12. FILM SCREENING: “CRASH”

• Wednesday, Aug. 14. GARAGE ROCK/PUNK: THE ESTROGEN HIGHS

• Thursday, Aug. 15. JAZZ: THE NICK Di MARIA QUARTET

• Monday, Aug. 19. FILM SCREENING: “THE WAR WITHIN”

• Monday, Aug. 26. FILM SCREENING: “THE OTHER SON”

 

Music: Orphée Russell on Thursday, Jan. 10, at 8 PM

Orphée_Russell_at_Best_VideoOrphée Russell wowed the audiences in the Best Video Performance Space the two times he has played here. An award-winning graduate of the Neighborhood Music School in New Haven, Russell currently attends the Eastman School of Music. Russell plays classical guitar. The music starts at 8 PM. The cover charge for this show is $5.

A sampling of quotes from some prominent classical guitarists about Russell’s performance in the juried student recital at the National Guitar Workshop in the summer of 2010:

“Very poetic performance-you have a musical presence” — Julian Gray,  recording artist and faculty, Peabody Institute at Johns Hopkins  University

“Beautiful tone and sense of legato…Very lovely and expressive  playing” — Adam Holzman, recording artist and faculty, University of  Texas at Austin

“You have such a wonderful sense of phrasing / timing – very mature  musically…You are a beautiful young player” — Martha Masters,  recording artist and faculty, Loyola Marymount University

“You brought a lot of poise and depth of feeling to this performance”  — Marc Teicholz, recording artist and faculty, San Francisco  Conservatory

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Monday, Jan. 14. FILM SERIES: WHAT WOULD YOU DO? “STATE OF THE UNION”

• Wednesday, Jan. 16. BOB FEINN of MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS: FRENCH WINES TASTING

• Thursday, Jan. 17. ROCK: THE PEACOCK FLOUNDERS

• Wednesday, Jan. 9. ELECTRIC ROCK: MOLD MONKIES

• Wednesday, Jan. 23. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC & WORLD MUSIC: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Thursday, Jan. 24. TBA

• Wednesday, Jan. 30. TBA

• Thursday, Jan. 31. PSYCH/FOLK: PONYBIRD