Music: Electronics & more by Psirens Fri., Aug. 23

Psirens performs at Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Aug. 23. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is a sliding scale of $5-10 (pay what you can in that range).

P S I R E N S formed serendipitously in 2009 when Paris Mancini played some tunes with strangers all night in a performance space she was renting in north Brooklyn. The next day, she recorded what she could remember from the dreamy melodies conjured the previous eve and BOOM! P S I R E N S was born! The project caught fire and Paris was asked to play a small tour in Berlin, which she happily did. Next a tour across the US, and later, Latin America. P S I R E N S is sometimes a 3 piece, a one-woman power choir, a wall of noise in a sailor bar in Staten Island, leading a symphony recording in Boise Idaho, sneaking a secret show in the mirror room deep underground in Manhattan, and/or recording amongst millions in Mexico City.

Click here for the complete list of upcoming events.

(UPDATED 7/23!) Music: SIRENS offer experimental ghost pop on Fri., July 25, at 8 PM

SIRENS performs at Best Video Performance Space on Friday, July 25. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

UPDATE!: The progressive acoustic group Fe Fi Fo will do a short opening set before SIRENS’ performance. The Fe Fi Fo acoustic trio takes you on colorful tonal and lyrical adventures. Fe Fi Fo plays mostly original music however often includes cover material from artists like Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, Captain Beefheart and even some Frank Zappa.

Sirens_promo_1_Web

SIRENS was started by chance in 2009 in New York City by Paris Mancini. The project immediately caught fire and traveled to Berlin, across the US, and more recently, Latin America. SIRENS has existed so far as a 3 piece, a one-woman power choir, a wall of noise in the back of a shady bar in Staten Island, the front of a symphony recording in middle America, a secret show in a mirror room underground in Chelsea, recording amongst millions in Mexico City, etc.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, July 18. SURF MUSIC/ROCKABILLY: THE SIX PACK DUTCHMEN, TOM HEARN

• Wednesday, July 23. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PAUL BELBUSTI (MERCY CHOIR); LEILA CROCKETT (BABY G)

• Thursday, July 24. PROGRESSIVE FOLK ROCK: KINDRED QUEER

• Friday, July 25. EXPERIMENTAL GHOST POP: SIRENS

• Tuesday, July 29. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS AND HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, JULY 30, SOLO ACOUSTIC GUITAR: ROBERT MESSORE

• Thursday, July 31. ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Aug. 1. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI

• Monday, Aug. 4. LECTURE: MARK SCHENCKER DISCUSSES “THE REAL WORLD OF DOWNTON ABBEY”

• Thursday, Aug. 7. FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, Aug. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS (PONYBIRD); SAM PERDUTA

• Monday, Aug. 11. FILM SCREENING AND DISCUSSION: WITNESS

• Wednesday, Aug. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 14. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET

• Monday, Aug. 18. FILM SCREENING: DANNY SAYS (ROUGH CUT)

• Wednesday, Aug. 20. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 21. ROCK: ROPE

• Friday, Aug. 22. CABARET: RICH MORAN

• Thursday, Aug. 28. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Sept. 5. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Wednesday, Sept. 10. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Sept. 19. INDIE ROCK: EURISKO

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR