Members’ Choice Film Screening: Sam Peckinpah’s “Pat Garrett & Billy the Kid” on Mon., Dec. 5

pat_garrett_billy_kid_one_sheet_webWe asked for your input and we got a response! Starting on Monday, Nov. 21, and into December we present a new film series based on favorites chosen by Best Video Film & Cultural Center members. Each movie starts at 7 PM and admission is $7.

On Monday, Dec. 5, BVFCC screens Sam Peckinpah’s 1973 western “Pat Garrett & Billy the Kid,” a favorite of member John McNamara. The movie stars Kris Kristofferson and James Coburn. Nobel Laureate Bob Dylan also has a bit role and composed his hit “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door” for the movie.

This is the remainder of the schedule with the members who proposed the films (some of these BVFCC members will be introducing and discussing their film).

Dec. 5: “PAT GARRETT AND BILLY THE KID” (John McNamara)
Dec. 12: “WINTER’S BONE” (Marianna Ridley)

Dec. 19: “CONTACT” (Rochelle Stackhouse)

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Dec. 1. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: GLENN ROTH, SINGER-SONGWRITER: KRISTEN GRAVES

• Friday, Dec. 2. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES CD RELEASE SHOW, HANK HOFFMAN (solo)

• Sunday, Dec. 4. FREE FIRST SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM (PRESENTED BY GUITARTOWNCT)

• Monday, Dec. 5. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “PAT GARRETT & BILLY THE KID”

• Thursday, Dec. 8. AMERICANA: SEPIATONE

• Friday, Dec. 9. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY BAND (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Monday, Dec. 12. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “WINTER’S BONE”

• Thursday, Dec. 15. JAZZ: THE AFRO-SEMITIC DUO (DAVID CHEVAN & WARREN BYRD)

• Friday, Dec. 16. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Saturday, Dec. 17. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE GOONIES” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Dec. 19. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CONTACT”

• Friday, Jan. 6. ACOUSTIC FOLK BLUES & MORE: VANGE DURST

• Saturday, Jan. 7. MUSIC OF “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, Jan. 13. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Friday, Jan. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Friday, Jan. 27. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Friday, Feb. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Feb. 10. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Friday, Feb. 24. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

New “Members’ Choice” film series starts Mon., Nov. 21, with “Runaway Train”

We asked for your input and we got a response! And on Monday, Nov. 21, we start a new film series based on favorites chosen by Best Video Film & Cultural Center members. Each movie starts at 7 PM and admission is $7.

runaway_train_poster_web

The first film, “Runaway Train,” directed by Soviet emigre Andrey Konchalovskiy and released in 1985, is described on Rotten Tomatoes as perhaps the “only existential adventure flick in Hollywood history.” New York Times reviewer Janet Maslin lauded star Jon Voight’s performance an escaped murderer. Maslin wrote, “The nihilism and the vicious intensity of Mr. Voight’s performance here are entirely different from anything else he has done on screen.” Member Ruth Silver picked “Runaway Train” and will participate in introducing the film.

This is the lineup of movies with the members who proposed the films (some of these BVFCC members will be introducing and discussing their film).

Nov. 21: “RUNAWAY TRAIN” (Ruth Silver)
Nov. 28: “CHARADE” (Linda Lindroth & Ruth Koizim)
Dec. 5: “PAT GARRETT AND BILLY THE KID” (John McNamara)
Dec. 12: “WINTER’S BONE” (Marianna Ridley)
Dec. 19: “CONTACT” (Rochelle Stackhouse)

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Nov. 16. IMPROVISATION/AVANT-GARDE: TOM BLANCARTE, CHRIS CRETELLA, ZACH ROWDEN

• Thursday, Nov. 17. LITERARY: ALICE MATTISON—”THE PLEASURES AND PERILS OF WRITING A NOVEL”

• Friday, Nov. 18. PARTY PUNK: TINY BOX BOOKING presents POSTURE & THE GRIZZLY, PRINCE DADDY & THE HYENA, MILKSHAKES, JUST FRIENDS (7 PM)

• Saturday, Nov. 19. JAZZ JAM with ALLEN LOWE, JEFF FULLER & ED CERCONE

• Monday, Nov. 21. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “RUNAWAY TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Nov. 23. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: DANIEL BACHMAN, ALEXANDER

• Friday, Nov. 25. BLUEGRASS/TRADITIONAL COUNTRY: DAVE PETERSON (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Nov. 26. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE INCREDIBLE JOURNEY” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Nov. 28. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CHARADE”

• Wednesday, Nov. 30. JAZZ: URI SHAHAM TRIO

• Thursday, Dec. 1. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: GLENN ROTH, SINGER-SONGWRITER: KRISTEN GRAVES

• Friday, Dec. 2. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES CD RELEASE SHOW, HANK HOFFMAN (solo)

• Sunday, Dec. 4. FREE FIRST SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM (PRESENTED BY GUITARTOWNCT)

• Monday, Dec. 5. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “PAT GARRETT & BILLY THE KID”

• Friday, Dec. 9. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY BAND (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Monday, Dec. 12. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “WINTER’S BONE”

• Friday, Dec. 16. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Saturday, Dec. 17. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE GOONIES” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Dec. 19. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CONTACT”

• Friday, Jan. 6. ACOUSTIC FOLK BLUES & MORE: VANGE DURST

• Friday, Jan. 13. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Friday, Jan. 27. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)