Music: The Red Hots play swingin’ blues and ragtime Fri., Nov. 6, at 8 PM

Red_Hots_BV_031915_WebThe Red Hots play Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Nov. 6. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

The Danbury-based (quartet), The Red Hots are two beautiful and talented ladies who bring life back to many classic jazz standards, old blues tunes and feisty originals with their blend of unique vocals, ukelele/guitar and harmonica, mixed with driving organic percussion. Members are Cynthia Preston (guitar, vocals) Petra Herceg (ukelele, vocals) Russ Preston (guitar, vocals, harmonica) Dave Bonan (percussion).

The Red Hots band began in October of 2012 in Danbury, CT — the brainchild and collaborative effort of Petra Herceg and Cynthia Preston, two beautiful and talented ladies who grew up playing music and had both performed professionally in the past. The band began re-imagining and re-doing classic, timeless pieces of music that were beginning to be lost to the ages, particularly old blues, jazz, ragtime and rockabilly.

Mixing the retro-stylized covers in with their own eclectic sound, The Red Hots began gigging at local places around town, experimenting with their sound and musical elements. After dabbling with various instruments and line-ups, the band has solidified their image as a tight-knit trio, expanding their live performances all the way to NYC festivals and private parties at the Jersey shore, as well as becoming a well-known act in their hometown. Their adaptability has become their coup de grace, able to play anything from low key acoustic shows in wine bars and lounges, to swingin’ and jivin’ upbeat sets in bars and rock venues.

The line-up includes Petra Herceg on ukulele and vocals, Cynthia Preston on guitar and vocals and Russ Preston on blues harp and guitar. The group plays with several distinguished area musicians as guest performers on upright bass, saxophone, piano and percussion.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

Wednesday, Oct. 28. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, Oct. 29. SYNTH POP/ROCK: MISSION ZERO

• Friday, Oct. 30. HALLOWEEN SILENT FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Monday, Nov. 2. FILM SCREENING: “ABOVE AND BEYOND”

• Wednesday, Nov. 4. OLD TIMEY/SWING: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Nov. 5. INDIE POP: LAMONT/PLAYFIGHT

• Friday, Nov. 6. RAGTIME/BLUES: THE RED HOTS

• Wednesday, Nov. 11. ROCK: ROPE; TRIP-HOP SOLO GUITAR: THE FOREST ROOM

• Friday, Nov. 13. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Nov. 18. FILM SCREENING: THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE (1962)

• Thursday, Nov. 19. DARK FOLK: ELISA FLYNN; SOUL PUNK: AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Nov. 20. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Sunday, Nov. 22. FILM SCREENING/BLACK LIVES MATTER BENEFIT: “ANNE BRADEN: SOUTHERN PATRIOT”

• Friday, Nov. 27. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Thursday, Dec. 3. ELECTRONIC: AVMUS

• Friday, Dec. 4. CLASSICAL: RAVENNA MICHALSEN & BETHANY WILDER

• Thursday, Dec. 10. BLUES/FOLK/COUNTRY: CODA BLUE

 

Music: The ZuZazz String Orkestra plays old-time tunes Wed., Nov. 4, at 8 PM

ZuZazz_String_Orkestra_BV_042915_WebThe ZuZazz String Orkestra plays Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Nov. 4. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $10.

A swinging sextet sporting combinations of fiddle, mandolin, banjo, guitar, string-bass, piano, ukulele, and steel-guitar, ZuZazz plays American music from the first three decades of popular recordings.

Their repertoire includes abandoned and regional styles including: Old-timey, Vaudeville, Hawaiian, Blues, Jump, Bluegrass, Cowboy, Swing, Traditional Jazz and tasteless Novelty. Songs from Charlie Poole, Mae West,  Helen Hume, Jimmie Rodgers,  Irving Berlin and W.C Handy are the band’s mainstays.

Come hear a bunch of good-time tunes with dancing beats, ironic lyrics, bad rhymes, tight harmonies and forgotten history, rendered with long instrumental breaks, unanticipated laughter and moving feet.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Oct. 28. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, Oct. 29. SYNTH POP/ROCK: MISSION ZERO

• Friday, Oct. 30. HALLOWEEN SILENT FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Monday, Nov. 2. FILM SCREENING: “ABOVE AND BEYOND”

• Wednesday, Nov. 4. OLD TIMEY/SWING: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Nov. 5. INDIE POP: LAMONT/PLAYFIGHT

• Friday, Nov. 6. RAGTIME/BLUES: THE RED HOTS

• Friday, Nov. 13. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Nov. 18. FILM SCREENING: THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE (1962)

• Thursday, Nov. 19. DARK FOLK: ELISA FLYNN; SOUL PUNK: AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Nov. 20. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Sunday, Nov. 22. FILM SCREENING/BLACK LIVES MATTER BENEFIT: “ANNE BRADEN: SOUTHERN PATRIOT”

• Thursday, Dec. 3. ELECTRONIC: AVMUS

Music: The Zu Zazz String Orkestra on Wed., Apr. 29, at 8 PM

ZuZazz_String_Band_WebThe ZuZazz String Orkestra plays Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Apr. 29. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $10.

A swinging sextet sporting combinations of fiddle, mandolin, banjo, guitar, string-bass, piano, ukulele, and steel-guitar, ZuZazz plays American music from the first three decades of popular recordings.

Their repertoire includes abandoned and regional styles including: Old-timey, Vaudeville, Hawaiian, Blues, Jump, Bluegrass, Cowboy, Swing, Traditional Jazz and tasteless Novelty. Songs from Charlie Poole, Mae West,  Helen Hume, Jimmie Rodgers,  Irving Berlin and W.C Handy are the band’s mainstays.

Come hear a bunch of good-time tunes with dancing beats, ironic lyrics, bad rhymes, tight harmonies and forgotten history, rendered with long instrumental breaks, unanticipated laughter and moving feet.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, April 17. WPKN BENEFIT

• Wednesday, Apr. 22. AMERICANA/ROOTS: THE HELLWIGS

• Thursday, Apr. 23. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC MUSIC: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, Apr. 24. BLUEGRASS: THE KOREY BRODSKY BAND

• Thursday, Apr. 30. INDIE ROCK: loom

• Friday, May 1. FILM FEST: “A DARK ROOM”

• Thursday, May 7. JAZZ: SAMUEL SUGGS

• Friday, May 8. INDIE ROCK: SPECTRAL FANGS

• Thursday, May 14. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, May 15. ALT-COUNTRY: HEATHER FAY

• Thursday, May 21. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, May 22. ROCK: NOTHING SPECIAL

• Thursday, May 28. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM

• Friday, May 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Friday, June 26. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Friday, July 17. PIANO POP/PAINTING: POCKET VINYL

• Wednesday, Aug. 26. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

Music: Boston-based Amy Kucharik to play neo-folk/ragtime Wed., Sept. 17, at 8 PM

Amy_Kucharik_WebBoston-based singer-songwriter Amy Kucharik plays the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Sept. 17. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Amy Kucharik is a singer-songwriter based in Somerville, MA. Amy has performed at venues in Somerville, Cambridge, and the greater Boston area as well as Philadelphia, Baltimore, Dallas and St. Louis, and is preparing for a Midwestern tour this fall.

Her band, Friends (With Benefits), features an assortment of talented musicians. Her EP, Dance Crush Blues, is available on Bandcamp.com, and her first full-length CD, “Cunning Folk,” was released in July, 2014. Amy has taught beginning and intermediate ukulele classes at the Cambridge Center for Adult Education, and is available for private lessons.

Kucharik will be playing Best Video with one accompanist, Khrysti Smyth, on backing vocals and percussion.

View the official video of Amy Kucharik’s song “Like a Boss”:

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Sept. 11. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, JACKET THOR

• Friday, Sept. 12. CHORAL ROCK, INDIE ROCK: THE DRESS-UPS (CD RELEASE!), THE SAWTELLES

• Wednesday, Sept. 17. NEO-FOLK/RAGTIME: AMY KUCHARIK

• Thursday, Sept. 18. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Sept. 19. INDIE ROCK: EURISKO

• Wednesday, Sept. 24. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Sept. 25. JAZZ: THE ELLIGERS BROTHERS

• Friday, Sept. 26. INDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE, THE SHRINNIRS

• Sunday, Sept. 28. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “BECAUSE OF WINN-DIXIE”

• Monday, Sept. 29. FILM SCREENING: “A RIVER RUNS THROUGH IT”

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 2. ORIGINAL INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC/JAZZ: GEORGE LESIW BAND

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR

• Sunday, Oct. 5. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “FLY AWAY HOME”

• Monday, Oct. 6. FILM SCREENING: “CAST AWAY”

• Wednesday, Oct. 8. AMERICANA: GOODNIGHT BLUE MOON

• Thursday, Oct. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Sunday, Oct. 12. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “BABE”

• Monday, Oct. 13. FILM SCREENING: “CAPE FEAR” (Original)

• Wednesday, Oct. 15. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN of MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Sunday, Oct. 19. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ANNIE”

• Monday, Oct. 20. FILM SCREENING: “DELIVERANCE”

• Thursday, Oct. 23. CABARET/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Sunday, Oct. 26. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “SHORT CIRCUIT”

• Monday, Oct. 27. FILM SCREENING: “THE SWIMMER”

• Wednesday, Oct. 29. ECLECTIC POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, Oct. 30. “SONGS OF MISERY, DESPAIR & THE SUPERNATURAL”: DAVID, SHELDON AND GAIL

• Sunday, Nov. 2. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ABBOTT & COSTELLO MEET FRANKENSTEIN”

• Monday, Nov. 3. FILM SCREENING: “The NIGHT OF THE HUNTER”

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Thursday, Nov. 20. FILM SCREENING: “SEVEN DAYS IN MAY”

 

Music: John Thomas, playing acoustic guitar, on Wednesday, Jan. 2, at 8 PM

John Thomas will play in the BEST VIDEO PERFORMANCE SPACE this Wednesday, Jan. 2. The music starts at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover.

John Thomas is a fingerstyle guitar player living in Hamden, in southern Connecticut. He plays instrumental acoustic music, mainly blues and ragtime. His influences range from the blues greats of the 1920s and 1930s to Merle Travis, Chet Atkins, and Jerry Reed. Thomas’ guitar playing is deeply steeped in American roots music of the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Playing solo, acoustic music for more than 40 years, his live performances and recordings feature music that ranges from the compositions of classic blues guitarists like Blind Lemon Jefferson and Rev. Gary Davis, to the classic ragtime tunes of Scott Joplin, to the Nashville playing of Chet Atkins and Jerry Reed, and to his own original compositions that echo these influences. For many of the blues tunes and rags in his repertoire he has created original arrangements, including adapting ragtime piano pieces to the guitar.

Check out a John Thomas performance on YouTube: