Music: Holiday rave-up with Dust Hat, Bronson Rock Fri., Dec. 21

Party rock ‘n’ roll band Dust Hat and roots quartet Bronson Rock will power up some holiday spirit on Friday, Dec. 21, at Best Video Performance Space. The shindig starts at 8 PM and the cover is a sliding scale $5-10 (pay what you can in that range).

Garage-y rock ‘n’ roll party band Dust Hat dubs itself a rock ‘n’ roll affront for modern times on its Bandcamp page. The group features Robin Woerner (Vox, Maracas, Vibes); Brendan Toller (Vox, Guitar, Tambourine Man); Jeff Slocum (Guitar, Fire Extinguisher); Dan Soto (Thunderstick); and Rob Ruby (Beat of The Traps).

Bronson Rock is a four piece rock and soul band featuring Buzz Gordo (aka Gary Mezzi) on guitar and lead vocals, Eric Bloomquist on bass, Lou St. John on organ, and Tom Smith on drums. Individually, the seasoned musicians in Bronson Rock have performed with a “who’s-who” of Connecticut artists, and continue to maintain busy schedules as players. The band featured the songwriting talents of Gordo, who was the main songwriter for New Haven’s illustrious Big Bad Johns. Two of his songs from those days have been featured in a recent season of HBO’s True Blood.

The band plays a tight, danceable mix of original garage soul sounds, with some choice obscure covers thrown in, owing a debt to groups like the Rascals and Booker T. and the MG’s.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Wednesday, Dec. 12, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Dec. 13. GYPSY JAZZ: DJANGO’S RESERVE

• Friday, Dec. 14. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS with TONY LOMBARDOZZI

• Sunday, Dec. 16, 2-4 PM. MONTHLY IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Dec. 17. ONE MAN SHOW: SAL ANNUNZIATO—PART OF THE FAMILY: A MOB CHILDHOOD (SOLD OUT!)

• Tuesday, Dec. 18, 8 PM. COMEDY: REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP SHOW with HOST KENDRA DAWSEY

• Wednesday, Dec. 19. JAZZ: TONY PURRONE

• Thursday, Dec. 20. INDIE ROCK: ZERO YEARS, SOFT SCREAMS

• Friday, Dec. 21, 7:30 PM. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL CHRISTMAS SHOW: DUST HAT, BRONSON ROCK

• Thursday, Dec. 27, 7:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: NO IDEA, BONSAI TREES

• Friday, Dec. 28, 7:30 PM. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: MATTHEW BENNETT, QUINN HARLEY, BOP TWEEDIE

• Wednesday, Jan. 2. AMBIENT/INDIE ROCK: THE FOREST ROOM, BEN HECHT, EVELYN GARY (Rescheduled from November 15)

• Friday, Jan. 4. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE SPARKOMATICS, THE TOMMYS

• Saturday, Jan. 5, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: NATE SABAT/MARK KILIANSKI DUO; DAVID SASSO/KAT WALLACE DUO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Jan. 6. GUITARTOWNCT SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Jan. 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Wednesday, Jan. 9, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Jan. 10. EXPERIMENTAL: KRISTINA WARREN, UNDERWEAR, ANNE RHODES

• Monday, Jan. 14. ONE MAN SHOW: SAL ANNUNZIATO—PART OF THE FAMILY: A MOB CHILDHOOD (SOLD OUT!)

• Tuesday, Jan. 15, 8 PM. REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP COMEDY SHOW HOSTED BY KENDRA DAWSEY

• Wednesday, Jan. 16. POP/ROCK: YOUTH XL, ROB NELSON

• Sunday, Jan. 20, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Jan. 21, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, Jan. 25. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Tuesday, Jan. 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Jan. 31. JAZZ: PAUL SHANLEY

• Sunday, Feb. 3. GUITARTOWN SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Feb. 4. MONTHLY MOVIE-RELATED TRIVIA NIGHT: TRIVIA-237

• Thursday, Feb. 7. INDIE FOLK: PODUNK THROWBACKS; Klezmer: KLEZMER FUSION COLLECTIVE

• Friday, Feb. 8. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Tuesday, Feb. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Wednesday, Feb. 13. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Sunday, Feb. 17, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Feb. 18, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Feb. 19, 8 PM. REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP COMEDY SHOW HOSTED BY KENDRA DAWSEY

• Friday, Feb. 22. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Friday, Mar. 1. AMBIENT/PSYCHEDELIC: LANDING

• Saturday, Mar. 2. INDIE POP ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Sunday, Mar. 3. GUITARTOWN SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Mar. 4. MONTHLY MOVIE-RELATED TRIVIA NIGHT: TRIVIA-237

• Tuesday, Mar. 5, 7 PM. LITERARY: A READING FOR AL-MUTANABBI STREET—DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Wednesday, Mar. 6. IMPROVISED MUSIC: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Thursday, Mar. 7. ROCK/PUNK/ROOTS: THE CHRISTIAN MARRONE TRIO; INDIE: GHOSTWOODS

• Friday, Mar. 8. INDIE ROCK: PHEOBE

• Wednesday, Mar. 13. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, Mar. 15. BLUES/ROCK: VANGE DURST

• Sunday, Mar. 17, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Mar. 18, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Mar. 19, 8 PM. REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP COMEDY SHOW HOSTED BY KENDRA DAWSEY

• Tuesday, Mar. 26, 7:30 PM. POETRY READING: CONNECTICUT POETRY SOCIETY

• Friday, Mar. 29. AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Friday, Apr. 5. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, LYS GUILLORN, SHELLYE VALAUSKAS, KIERSTIN SIESER

• Friday, Apr. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY & JIM HURST (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Wednesday, April 17. ACOUSTIC FOLK ROCK: PAUL DECOSTER, EXPERIMENTAL ACOUSTIC: KAREN HOGG

• Tuesday, May 7, 7:30 PM. FILM SCREENING: “THE VILLAGE”

• Friday, May 24. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, May 30. IMPROVISED MUSIC: URS LEIMGRUBER, ADAM MATLOCK

• Tuesday, June 25, 7:30 PM. POETRY READING: CONNECTICUT POETRY SOCIETY

• Saturday, Aug. 17, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: PHILLIPS, GRIER & FLINNER (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)