Music: The Right-Offs rock on Thurs., Aug. 18

Rock ‘n’ roll trio The Right-Offs will crank up the amps at Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Aug. 18. The show starts at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover.

Right-Offs_April_2016_Web

From The Right Offs:

We’re The Right Offs. We play rock ‘n roll nice and loud. Connecticut is where we’re from. When we speak we shout and when we play we entertain. Maybe it’s art, maybe it’s music, maybe it’s just what we love. Nothing wasted; not one movement, syllable or glance. You’ll see us coming out of the corner of your eye and we’ll dare you to try and turn away.

The group is Erik Vumback on the drums, Than Rolnick on bass and vocals and Max Loignon on guitar and lead vocals. Their influences include The Who, Black Sabbath, Nirvana and The Clash. Since they started performing regularly, they have developed a reputation as a sterling live band.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Aug. 4. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: THE NAMELESS TRIO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, JULIE BEMAN & ERIC BLOOMQUIST

• Monday, Aug. 8. FILM SCREENING: “MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION”

• Wednesday, Aug. 10. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Thursday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Aug. 12. INDIE/DIY/QUEERCORE: LADY QUEEN PARADISE, ADULT MOM, SPACE CAMP

• Wednesday, Aug. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE, TINY OCEAN

• Thursday, Aug. 18. ROCK: THE RIGHT-OFFS

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Sunday, Aug. 21. INDIE ROCK: WALTER, ETC.; BLOWOUT, 1 more TBA

• Wednesday, Aug. 24. OLD-TIMEY/BLUES: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Aug. 25. JAZZ: BRIAN JARAWA GRAY

• Friday, Aug. 26. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Aug. 31. BLUES/FOLK: CODA BLUE, THE RED HOTS

• Thursday, Sept. 1. ACOUSTIC BLUES/FOLK: DITTYMACK

• Friday, Sept. 2. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Sept. 4. FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM SPONSORED BY GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS

• Thursday, Sept. 8. INDIE POP: MISSION ZERO

• Friday, Sept. 9. ROCK: THE FURORS

• Thursday, Sept. 15. FOLK/SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Saturday, Sept. 17. BLUEGRASS/SWING: TOO BLUE

• Thursday, Sept. 22. PIANO MUSIC: DONALD ALFANO

• Friday, Sept. 23. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING: “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Tuesday, Sept. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH

• Wednesday, Sept. 28. BRAZILIAN CHORO MUSIC: ROGÉRIO SOUZA, EDINHO GERBER & STEPHEN GUERRA

• Thursday, Sept. 29. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SWAMP YANKEE, SAM MOTH

• Friday, Sept. 30. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Oct. 5. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN OF MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

• Friday, Oct. 14. CELTIC/APPALACHIAN: REELIN’ AWAY

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE MALTESE FALCON”

• Sunday, Oct. 30. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE”

• Sunday, Nov. 6. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE ASPHALT JUNGLE”

• Sunday, Nov. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE AFRICAN QUEEN”