Music: Singer-songwriter Sabrina Trueheart plays Fri., Apr. 26

Sabrina Trueheart plays Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Apr. 26. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is a sliding scale of $5-10—pay what you can in that range.

Sabrina Trueheart is a singer/songwriter from New Haven, Connecticut. A lifelong musician, she began playing guitar and writing her own music at age 10, and later decided to turn her passion into her career. In 2014, Sabrina released an EP of original works entitled “Neck of the Woods.”

She attended Cooperative Arts High School in New Haven where she studied music theory and jazz guitar. Today, she is a student at Fairfield University working towards her bachelor’s degree in music. Sabrina’s original music ranges from folk to pop. Her influences include Jewel, Joni Mitchell, Anthony Green, and Lana Del Rey.

Click here for the complete list of upcoming events.

Music: Singer-songwriter Sabrina Trueheart performs Fri., Nov. 20, at 8 PM

Sabrina_Trueheart_2015_WebSabrina Trueheart returns to Best Video Performance Space Friday, Nov. 20. Trueheart plays at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Sabrina Trueheart is a singer/songwriter from New England. Her music is folk-based, her main instrument is guitar but sometimes ukulele and harmonica are included in her music. She is comparable to singer/songwriters such as Jewel, Joni Mitchell, Lana Del Rey and Anthony Green. Sabrina currently studies jazz guitar and music theory in school.

Sabrina currently assists a songwriting after-school program at her school and is being trained in teaching Doso guitar to elementary school children. In her spare time, she enjoys exercising and recycling.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Nov. 18. FILM SCREENING: THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE (1962)

• Thursday, Nov. 19. DARK FOLK: ELISA FLYNN; SOUL PUNK: AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Nov. 20. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Sunday, Nov. 22. FILM SCREENING/BLACK LIVES MATTER BENEFIT: “ANNE BRADEN: SOUTHERN PATRIOT”

• Friday, Nov. 27. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Sunday, Nov. 29. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY STANLEY KUBRICK (“THE KILLING”)

• Wednesday, Dec. 2. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, Dec. 3. ELECTRONIC: AVMUS

• Friday, Dec. 4. CLASSICAL: RAVENNA MICHALSEN & BETHANY WILDER

• Sunday, Dec. 6. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY STANLEY KUBRICK (“PATHS OF GLORY”)

• Thursday, Dec. 10. BLUES/FOLK/COUNTRY: CODA BLUE

• Friday, Dec. 11. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Sunday, Dec. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY STANLEY KUBRICK (“DR. STRANGELOVE”)

• Wednesday, Dec. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: BRIAN DOLZANI

• Friday, Dec. 18. PSYCHO-FOLK: MILKSOP: UNSUNG

• Sunday, Dec. 20. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY STANLEY KUBRICK (“BARRY LYNDON”)

Music: Singer-songwriter Sabrina Trueheart returns Fri., May 29, at 8 PM

Singer-songwriter Sabrina Trueheart, who attends Cooperative Arts and Humanities High School in New Haven, returns to perform at the Best Video Performance Space on Friday, May 29. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Sabrina_Trueheart_2015_Web

Sabrina Trueheart is a singer/songwriter from New England. Her music is folk-based, her main instrument is guitar but sometimes ukulele and harmonica are included in her music.

She is comparable to singer/songwriters such as Jewel, Joni Mitchell, Lana Del Rey and Anthony Green. Sabrina currently studies jazz guitar and music theory in school.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, May 21. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, May 22. ROCK: NOTHING SPECIAL

• Wednesday, May 27. BLUEGRASS: THE FIDDLEHEADS

• Thursday, May 28. SINGER-SONGWRITER; ACOUSTIC GUITARIST: SETH ADAM; GLENN ROTH

• Friday, May 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Thursday, June 4. AVANT-GARDE: ZERO DOLLAR, PARLAY DRONER

• Friday, June 5. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Monday, June 8. FILM SCREENING: “FINDING TATANKA”

• Wednesday, June 10. SINGER-SONGWRITER: KATH BLOOM, DAN GREENE

• Thursday, June 11. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS & THE CYGNET SISTERS

• Friday, June 12. BLUEGRASS: THE WOOL HATS STRING BAND

• Thursday, June 18: SILENT FILM with MUSIC: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT scores “THE CABINET OF DR. CALIGARI”

• Friday, June 26. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Friday, July 17. PIANO POP/PAINTING: POCKET VINYL

• Wednesday, Aug. 26. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

Music: Singer-songwriters Ilana Zsigmond, Sabrina Trueheart on Thurs., May 22, at 8 PM

Zsigmond_Trueheart_promo_Web

Ilana Zsigmond, left, and Sabrina Trueheart, right

Two students from Cooperative Arts and Humanities High School in New Haven, Ilana Zsigmond and Sabrina Trueheart, perform at the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, May 22. It is a return performance for Ilana Zsigmond; it will be Sabrina Trueheart’s first time singing at Best Video. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Ilana Zsigmond is a word nerd of indeterminate age that likes Spider-Man, novelty band-aids, and semi-colons. If she could live entirely on fried rice and sci-fi movies, she would be truly happy. She currently makes music on planet earth with her cat Max and several pet humans that insist are her family.

Music has been a constant through Ilana’s entire life. She began playing classical piano at 4 and guitar at 10. She draws a lot inspiration from The Shins, Bright Eyes and her parents.

Sabrina Trueheart is a folk-oriented singer/songwriter who performs at various venues around New Haven county. She is a flower child who enjoys nature, environmental awareness, and listening to vinyl records.

Sabrina’s music and songwriting is inspired by Jewel, Joni Mitchell, Anthony Green, and Jim Morrison. She is currently enrolled in a performing arts school where she studies jazz and music theory.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, May 15. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: FRANK CRITELLI, MARK MIRANDO

• Sunday, May 18. SUNDAY CHILDREN’S FILM MATINEE

• Monday, May 19. FILM SCREENING: “MULHOLLAND DRIVE”

• Wednesday, May 21. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, May 22. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: ILANA ZSIGMOND, SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Monday, May 26. FILM SCREENING: “LOCAL HERO”

• Wednesday, May 28. SYNTH POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, May 29. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: SAM PERDUTA, JASON PRINCE

• Monday, June 2. FILM SCREENING: “LOCAL HERO”

• Wednesday, June 4. ROCK: THE IVORY BILLS

• Thursday, June 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM & TOM HANFORD, BOP TWEEDIE

• Friday, June 6. WORLD MUSIC/FOLK: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Wednesday, June 11. LITERARY READING: ALICE MATTISON, SANDI KAHN SHELTON

• Thursday, June 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, June 13. FOLK: ROBERT MESSORE

• Wednesday, June 18. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, June 19. GARAGE POP/PSYCHEDELIC ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Wednesday, June 25. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Thursday, June 26. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, June 27. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU