Music & Puppetry: The Clams play surf music, Kim Mikenis offers shadow puppetry Wed., Jan. 27, at 8 PM

Surf rock trio The Clams plays Best Video Film & Cultural Center on Wednesday, Jan. 26. The show starts at 8 PM with Kim Mikenis, The Human Light Box, presenting a short amusing shadow puppet performance. The cover is $5.

Clams_Web

Straight from the beach party / clambake of your dreams, The Clams brought the driving sound of 1960s surf music to parties, clubs and events everywhere. This 3 piece group dished up tasty instrumental surf classics ala Dick Dale and the Ventures, surfed-up TV and movie classics and loads of Clams originals!

The Clams have provided reverb soaked, go-go powered instrumentals from Maine to Pennsylvania. The Clams have shared stages with The Nebulas, 9th Wave, SPF-4, The Rip Chords and Many more awsome bands. The Clams have played The Cutting Room NYC, Otto’s Shrunken Head, Cafe 9, Ralph’s Diner, Kirkland Cafe, Geno’s Rock Club, Yarmouth Clams Festival and many more groovy venues.

Kim_Mikenis_Web

Kim Mikenis’ artist statement:

I am fascinated with combining art and science with my love of nature. I play with paper, sculpt, assemble, collage, paint and sew. I enjoy figuring out where to place the finished figures on the canvas and often feel a sense of sadness once the figures are permanently attached to one final fixed position. My enjoyment with play and constant movement has spurned creation of dozens of puppet shows and stop motion animations.  I am also inspired by travels abroad, the comforts of home, vaudeville, circus, human fears, scientific phenomenon and animals.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Jan. 21. WORLD MUSIC/FOLK: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Friday, Jan. 22. INDIE ROCK: THE FURORS, JACKET THOR

• Monday, Jan. 25. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON”

• Wednesday, Jan. 27. SURF ROCK: THE CLAMS; SHADOW PUPPETS: KIM MIKENIS, THE HUMAN LIGHT BOX

• Thursday, Jan. 28. BLUEGRASS: THE DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Friday, Jan. 29. NHV REMEMBERS DAVID BOWIE—THE EARLY YEARS (1964-1987)

• Monday, Feb. 1. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “THE MARTIAN”

• Wednesday, Feb. 3. YIDDISH SWING/JAZZ VOCALS: THE SELTZER SISTERS of the NU HAVEN KAPELYE

• Thursday, Feb. 4. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SWAMP YANKEE, ALEXANDER

• Friday, Feb. 5. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITER: MERCY CHOIR, PAGEANT DOVE

• Sunday, Feb. 7. BLUEGRASS JAM 2-5 PM (FREE)

• Monday, Feb. 8. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “SICARIO”

• Friday, Feb. 12. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Monday, Feb. 15. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “SUFFRAGETTE”

• Wednesday, Feb. 17. ACOUSTIC BLUES/FOLK: DITTYMACK

• Thursday, Feb. 18. JAZZ: THE MONK PROJECT BAND

• Friday, Feb. 19. GUITARISTS/SINGER-SONGWRITERS: RANDY COLLINS, IAN ETHAN CASE

• Monday, Feb. 22. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “99 HOMES”

• Friday, Feb. 26. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Thursday, Mar. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOY IKE

• Friday, Mar. 4. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Friday, Mar. 11. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Thursday, Mar. 24. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Wednesday, Mar. 30. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: EUGENE GALLAGHER, WESTERN ESTATES

• Thursday, Mar. 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI