Music: Intense singer-songwriters Shaun Bowen and Kevin MF King on Thurs., July 23, at 8 PM

Singer-songwriters Shaun Bowen and Kevin MF King perform at Best Video on Thursday, July 23. The intensity starts at 8 PM and doesn’t let up for two sets. The cover is $5.

Shaun Bowen singer songwriter guitarist in long running heavy rock New Haven band Murdervan is also a solo performer with a style that separates him from most folk and acoustic acts. With just a beat up 1970s cheap  acoustic  guitar Bowen writes and plays songs in his solo act that are both driving and melodic and grounded by well-crafted pop hooks. He tends to strum the guitar very hard at times trying to fill the room with a big sound of open strings and lavish chordal voicings. Shaun is currently working on his debut record to be released sometime in early fall and continues to be seen live throughout the New England area.

Shaun Bowen at Best Video Performance Space March 23, 2015.

Shaun Bowen at Best Video Performance Space March 23, 2015.

Kevin MF King’s songs run amok with topics such as work drudgery, self-reflection, escapism, the debauchery displayed in modern politics and the process of human interaction, at times using fictional folk tales to tell a story, others just beautiful instrumentals. KMFK has more than 100 self-recorded songs regularly distributed on self-released hand-stamped CDs.

Kevin MF King

Kevin MF King

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, July 16. STAND-UP COMEDY: RICH CYR & FRIENDS

• Friday, July 17. PIANO POP/PAINTING: POCKET VINYL

• Tuesday, July 21. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC MUSIC: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Wednesday, July 22. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN (Former members of JAMES VELVET’S groups THE LONESOME SPARROWS & THE IVORY BILLS)

• Thursday, July 23. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: SHAUN BOWEN, KEVIN MF KING

• Friday, July 24. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: ANNE MARIE MENTA, SHELLYE VALAUSKAS

• Wednesday, July 29. CARIBBEAN/FOLK: THE LUKE RODNEY BAND

• Thursday, July 30. CABARET/CROONING/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Friday, July 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SAMUEL BASS

• Thursday, Aug. 6. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT

• Friday, Aug. 7. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Wednesday, Aug. 12. ELECTRONIC IMPROVISATION: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI & DEREK PIOTR

• Thursday, Aug. 13. INDIE FOLK: KINDRED QUEER

• Wednesday, Aug. 19. FOLK: WALKINGWOOD MANDOLIN QUARTET

• Thursday, Aug. 20. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Friday, Aug. 21. BLUEGRASS: FIDDLE FOREVER

• Tuesday, Aug. 25. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Friday, Aug. 28. FILM SCREENING: “HEAD” (CT-PRODUCED LIVE PUPPET HORROR FEATURE)

• Wednesday, Sept. 16. COMEDY OPEN MIC WITH DAN CARRANO & DAN RICE

• Tuesday, Sept. 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: HANNAH FAIR

• Wednesday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANGELA EASTERLING

• Thursday, Oct. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI

• Friday, Oct. 23. ALT-COUNTRY: TANNERSVILLE