Music: The Six-Pack Dutchmen play instrumental rock Fri., Nov. 7, at 8 PM

The Six-Pack Dutchmen play the Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Nov. 7. Music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Six-Pack_Dutchmen_BV_071814_2_Web

The Six-Pack Dutchmen play concise instrumental themes with surf overtones and nods to early rock n roll.

Critic Fran Fried writes:

Well, we’re not sure which of the three guys in the group are Dutch—with names like Andrukevich, Hogan and Coppola—and we’re not quite sure who went out and bought the beer. (Hey, these guys aren’t youngsters—they just play with the enthusiasm of young ‘uns—so when we say sixpack, we ain’t talking about abs, okay?) But we are sure you’ll have a good time with these fine rock ‘n’ roll instrumentalists, brew or no brew, windmills or not.

Tom Andrukevich, the bass player, has a long history behind and ahead of him—starting with one of Connecticut’s first punk bands, The Survivors, in the ‘70s and ‘80s; then spending much of the ‘90s with one of the most clever surf/instrumental bands on the planet, The Mill Valley Taters; and these days donning the helmet and sweater (skates optional) to play with the world-renowned hockey rockers, The Zambonis.

Dave Hogan, on guitar, is a successful singer/songwriter in his own right who plays many gigs in Connecticut and is now expanding his touring road map beyond the state. A veteran of five Nutmeg State bands (Red One, Genghis Khan, The Great Upsetters, The Rafter Bats and, most recently, Graylight Campfire), he’s as immersed in The Fleshtones as he is Son Volt and Duane Allman.

Drummer Jim Coppola played with singer/guitarist/renowned cartoonist Bob Therrien in Bad Bob & the New World Crusade and also recorded with Delvis.

Sixpack? With credentials like that, make it a case.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Oct. 29. ECLECTIC POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, Oct. 30. “SONGS OF MISERY, DESPAIR & THE SUPERNATURAL”: DAVID, SHELDON AND GAIL

• Sunday, Nov. 2. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ABBOTT & COSTELLO MEET FRANKENSTEIN”

• Monday, Nov. 3. FILM SCREENING: “THE JEWISH CARDINAL”

• Thursday, Nov. 6. NEO-URBAN TRADITIONAL MUSIC: THE STACY PHILLIPS-PAUL HOWARD DUET

• Friday, Nov. 7. INSTRUMENTAL ROCK: THE SIX PACK DUTCHMEN

• Monday, Nov. 10. FILM SCREENING: “A PRICE ABOVE RUBIES”

• Tuesday, Nov. 11. TRIBUTE TO FRANK SINATRA: FRANZ DOUSKEY & RICH MORAN, JR.

• Wednesday, Nov. 12. JAZZ: DAVID CHEVAN & WARREN BYRD

• Thursday, Nov. 13. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: FRANK CRITELLI, JASON PRINCE

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Monday, Nov. 17. FILM SCREENING: “I CONFESS”

• Wednesday, Nov. 19. SONGWRITERS’ CIRCLE: MARK MIRANDO, DICK NEAL, LAURA JOY

• Thursday, Nov. 20. FILM SCREENING: “SEVEN DAYS IN MAY”

• Friday, Nov. 21. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: BECKY KESSLER (Violent Mae), SAM PERDUTA (Elison Jackson)

• Monday, Nov. 24. FILM SCREENING: “BABETTE’S FEAST”

• Friday, Nov. 28. PSYCHO-FOLK: MILKSOP: UNSUNG

• Monday, Dec. 1. FILM SCREENING: “DOUBT”

• Thursday, Dec. 4. JAZZ: REBECCA ABBOTT

• Friday, Dec. 5. BLUEGRASS: PHANTOMS OF THE OPRY

• Monday, Dec. 8. FILM SCREENING: “THE END OF THE AFFAIR”

• Thursday, Dec. 11. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Monday, Dec. 15. FILM SCREENING: “VISION”

• Thursday, Dec. 18. POST-PUNK: ZOO FRONT, KEVIN MF KING

• Friday, Dec. 19. ALT-COUNTRY: HEATHER FAY

• Friday, Jan. 9. MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Wednesday, Jan. 14. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS