Music: Christopher Mir plays rock Wed., Oct. 14, at 8 PM

Christopher_Mir_Scott_McDonald_WebChristopher Mir, joined by drummer Scott McDonald, plays his rock songs at Best Video on Wednesday, Oct. 14. The cover is $5 and the music starts at 8 PM.

Mir is well-known locally as an accomplished visual artist but as a hobby he he writes and performs his own lively, catchy music. Mir has previously performed at Best Video Performance Space in solo acoustic troubadour mode and fronting his indie rock trio Sozio.

This time, Mir will be playing rock style, having been urged by McDonald to perform live a raft of recent new songs Mir had recorded at home.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Monday, Oct. 5. FILM SCREENING: ELIHU RUBIN’S & ELENA OXMAN’S “ON BROADWAY”

• Wednesday, Oct. 7. ROCK ‘N” ROLL: THE BUTTONDOWNS; SINGER-SONGWRITER: GARY HERIOT

• Thursday, Oct. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI, BEN PARENT with DANA TAKAKI

• Friday, Oct. 9. JAZZ: THE JOVAN ALEXANDRE TRIO

• Wednesday, Oct. 14. INDIE ROCK: CHRISTOPHER MIR

• Thursday, Oct. 15. SOLO GUITAR/CD RELEASE: GLENN ROTH

• Friday, Oct. 16. TOURING SINGER-SONGWRITERS: LINDA WATERFALL, DEAN STEVENS

• Wednesday, Oct. 21. ROOTS ROCK: BRONSON ROCK

• Thursday, Oct. 22. GARAGE SOUL: ELISON JACKSON

• Friday, Oct. 23. ALT-COUNTRY: TANNERSVILLE

• Thursday, Oct. 29. SYNTH POP/ROCK: MISSION ZERO

• Friday, Oct. 30. HALLOWEEN SILENT FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Wednesday, Nov. 4. OLD TIMEY/SWING: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Friday, Nov. 6. RAGTIME/BLUES: THE RED HOTS

• Friday, Nov. 13. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Nov. 18. FILM SCREENING: THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE (1962)

• Thursday, Nov. 19. DARK FOLK: ELISA FLYN; SOUL PUNK: AN HISTORIC

• Thursday, Dec. 3. ELECTRONIC: AVMUS

 

Music: Indie rock by Sozio on Wed., Jan. 29, at 8 PM

Indie rock band Sozio makes its live debut in the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Jan. 29. The cover is $5 and the music starts at 8 PM.

Sozio_photo_Web

Sozio is the live performance vehicle for songwriter Christopher Mir. A renowned visual artist, Mir also has a prolific musical imagination, regularly recording (unreleased) albums at home in rock, folk and avant-garde styles. Sozio is a project more in the pop mode, with sharp hooks and clever lyrics. Mir sings and plays guitar, backed by the rhythm section of Scott McDonald (drums) and Anthony Florio (bass).

Or, as Mir puts it:

Planck scale geometries and psi phenomenon merge to form the sonic bliss that is Sozio.  Sozio is—according to the most recent evidence—Scott McDonald (hitting on drums and flagons of wine), Christopher Mir (singing and guitarring in quantum super position), and Tony Flowers (playing anti-bass for the masses). Do the world a big favor—love Sozio right now. Yolo punks!

Well, I told you he is an artist.

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Thursday, Jan. 23. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ILANA ZSIGMOND

• Wednesday, Jan. 29. INDIE ROCK: SOZIO

• Thursday, Jan. 30. PSYCHO-FOLK: MILKSOP: UNSUNG

• Wednesday, Feb. 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Thursday, Feb. 6. CHORAL QUIRK POP: THE DRESS-UPS

• Wednesday, Feb. 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ARTIST FORMERLY KNOWN AS PAT STONE

• Thursday, Feb. 13. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: BIG FAT COMBO

• Thursday, Feb. 20. BLUEGRASS: 5 IN THE CHAMBER

• Wednesday, Feb. 26. DECONSTRUCTING POP: THE LUCK PUSHERS

• Thursday, Feb. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Wednesday, Apr. 2. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, Apr. 17. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE LONESOME SPARROWS