Music/Spoken Word: Singer-songwriter Shula Weinstein with Ben Ross shares bill with monologuist Steve Bellwood Wed., Mar. 15

Cellist and singer-songwriter Shula Ruth Weinstein, accompanied by Ben Ross, shares a Wednesday, Mar. 15, bill with monologuist Steve Bellwood. The show starts at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover.

A musician for over twenty years, Shula Ruth Weinstein has been a guitarist ,cellist and singer-songwriter. She draws upon many genres of music from Klezmer and other folk traditions to  Avant-garde and roots music.

Shula Ruth Weinstein

Currently she performs with Flint Ladder—a string band comprised of Frank Panzarella on guitar, Jim Baldoni on Bass, Karen Hogg on Mandolin and guitar and Anne Cherry on fiddle. Shula has also enjoyed playing  improvisationally  and  has often  collaborated with  Steve Bellwood- a wordsmith and playwright, and her life partner Eben Ross, among many  others​ ​in the New haven community. Shula released her debut album in 2015 entitled “Small and Taller Tales”.

“Small and Taller Tales” is a collection of songs that are comprised of personal narratives often calling upon surreal and earth-based imagery. Melodic cello lines combine with open-tuned guitar voicing to become an integrated medium in the expression of these songs.

Some might say he’s a dreamer, but Steve Bellwood believes he’s just keeping it real. For the monologist, playwright, actor and poet—a British ex-pat and an almost 30-year resident of the New Haven area—emotional authenticity is the artistic currency he values. Couple that with a deep-rooted disdain for the inequities of contemporary capitalist culture and what you DON’T have is a smooth theatrical career path. Which is okay with Bellwood. More or less.

Steve Bellwood

“I’ve always had this thing about making it without joining the corporation, without kowtowing,” Bellwood says in an English accent undiminished by two decades in the U.S. He prefers to work independently, rather than try and shop scripts or knock on the doors of the prestige local theater venues, Long Wharf and Yale Rep. “Part of me resists that and part gets pissed with myself. If you don’t invest something, if you don’t play the game, you’re not going to get the rewards of the game. But I hate playing the game.”The type of grassroots, intimate theater that Bellwood savors has frustrations. Unlike theater capitals like London and New York, there is a dearth of young talented actors willing to participate in fringe productions, leaving Bellwood unable to stage some of his ensemble works. There is no money to rent performance halls. He writes three to four hours a day but frets, “When I’m not getting paid, I think ‘what am I doing?'”

And the answer, if not fully satisfactory, is that artistic expression is its own reward. Bellwood recalls one of his favorite lines from a recent monologue: “To be able to entertain yourself that much is a gift in itself.”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Mar. 10. JAZZ GUITAR: THE COPPOLA JAZZ GUITAR DUO

• Saturday, Mar. 11. JAZZ: THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE PLAYS “BLACK, BROWN AND BEIGE; YELLOW, TRANS AND QUEER: MY COUNTRY ‘TIS OF THIS (A PROTEST SUITE COMPOSED BY ALLEN LOWE)

• Monday, Mar. 13. FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MOONLIGHT”

• Wednesday,  Mar. 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHULA WEINSTEIN & BEN ROSS

• Thursday, Mar. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM, KATHY MUIR

• Friday, Mar. 17. INDIE ROCK: DISCO TEEN 66

• Saturday, Mar. 18. INDIE FOLK: JAMES AM DOWNES, BROOMS, GABE MORTALI

• Wednesday, Mar. 22. CLASSICAL: 4-3-2-1: A EUPHONIUM AND FRIENDS PRODUCTION

• Friday, Mar. 24. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SINGER-SONGWRITER: BELLE OF THE FALL

• Saturday, Mar. 25. JAZZ: : THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE PLAYS “BLACK, BROWN AND BEIGE; YELLOW, TRANS AND QUEER: MY COUNTRY ‘TIS OF THIS (A PROTEST SUITE COMPOSED BY ALLEN LOWE)

• Sunday, Mar. 26. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “REPO MAN”

• Wednesday, Mar. 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: LAMONT

• Thursday, Mar. 30. ALTERNATIVE/AMERICANA: THE WYRD BROTHERS; DANCY DREAM POP: FOVEA

• Saturday, Apr. 1. CULT FILM SCREENING: TBA

• Sunday, Apr. 2. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “WARGAMES”

• Thursday, Apr. 6. AVANT-GARDE: ELM FICTION

• Friday, Apr. 7. ROCK: GHOST RADIO, SONIA & SID

• Saturday, Apr. 8. CLASSICAL GUITAR: MAX LYMAN; AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: ALEXANDER

• Sunday, Apr. 9. REDSCROLL RECORDS SCREENING AND MUSIC

• Friday, Apr. 14. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Apr. 16. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “BLUE VELVET”

• Sunday, Apr. 23. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “DO THE RIGHT THING”

• Friday, Apr. 28. BLUEGRASS: THE SLOCAN RAMBLERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Apr. 30. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “THELMA AND LOUISE”

• Sunday, May 7. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Saturday, May 6. CULT FILM SCREENING: TBA

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER DUO

• Friday, June 16. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Aug. 4. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Sept. 15. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

Theatrical Reading: Further scenes from Steve Bellwood’s “Cozy Beach” on Wed., Mar. 4, at 8 PM

SONY DSC“A new day in New Haven, and a tragic one for two families whose teenage daughters were brutally murdered last night in the Edgewood Heights…”

Beneath many a mildly fluttering surface, underground currents are spiraling out of control. Only Cozy Beach seems to harbor a solution to all this city’s problems.

Steve Bellwood, prolific New Haven playwright and free-form story-teller, introduces more workshop scenes from his live sidewalk-cracking theatrical drama series on Wed., Mar. 4. The program starts at 8 PM and admission is $5.

Originally inspired by Robert Altman’s interweaving movie meldings in “Short Cuts” and his (relatively late) introduction to the onslaught high literary and dramatic quality of various television series, Bellwood seeks to emulate such in live theatre. As the primary source of his exposure to these series, he found it appropriate to premiere an introductory program-presentation-reading of “Cozy Beach” at Best Video Performance Space back in January.

Set in New Haven and a neighboring shoreline community, involving multiple characters and interwoven stories, this work-in-development will be presented in an adaptive shape of excerpted scenes to introduce primary characters and themes, and hopefully provoke and inspire general discussion and involvement.

Actors Jessica Stern, Norman Allen and Jackie Sidle in a scene from "Cozy Beach," Jan. 29, 2015.

Actors Jessica Stern, Norman Allen and Jackie Sidle in a scene from “Cozy Beach,” Jan. 29, 2015.

Two prep-school senior girls are brutally murdered in a parents’ leafy suburban home, and the double homicide spins off an exploration of sex-drugs-organ trafficking, mercy-killing, PTSD, addiction, success and failure, justice, revenge, gender-identity, cultural identity, corruption and complicity by omission. When the underworld invades the over world….

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Monday, Feb. 23. FILM SCREENING: “CRIMES AND MISDEMEANORS”

• Thursday, Feb. 26. BLUEGRASS: CHURCH SECTS

• Friday, Feb. 27. FUNK/ROCK: HOLIDAY PING

• Monday, Mar. 2. FILM SCREENING: “THE SWIMMER”

• Wednesday, Mar. 4. THEATRICAL READING: “COZY BEACH” by STEVE BELLWOOD

• Thursday, Mar. 5. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Mar. 6. JAZZ: NICK DiMARIA WiRED

• Monday, Mar. 9. FILM SCREENING: “GRAN TORINO”

• Monday, Mar. 16. FILM SCREENING: “NOW, VOYAGER”

• Wednesday, Mar. 18. MODERN ROCK SPOKEN WORD SONGSTRESS/INDIE FOLK ROCK: SHADOW & COMPANY

• Thursday, Mar. 19. RAGTIME/BLUES: THE RED HOTS

• Friday, Mar. 20. ALT-COUNTRY: MERCY MEADOWS

• Monday, Mar. 23. FILM SCREENING: “UP IN THE AIR”

• Monday. Mar. 30. FILM SCREENING: “A LATE QUARTET”

• Friday, April 3. AVANT-GARDE: ZERO DOLLAR

• Thursday, Apr. 9. 150th ANNIVERSARY OF APPOMATTOX/FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, Apr. 10. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, April 17. WPKN BENEFIT

• Friday, May 1. FILM FEST: “A DARK ROOM”

• Wednesday, Aug. 26. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

Playwright Steve Bellwood presents theatrical reading of “Cozy Beach” drama Thurs., Jan. 29

SONY DSCPlaywright Steve Bellwood debuts his drama “Cozy Beach” with a theatrical/reading performance at Best video Performance Space on Thursday, Jan. 29. The event starts at 8 PM and admission is $5.

Prolific New Haven playwright and free-form original story-teller Steve Bellwood ventures into the long-form live theatrical possibilities of a drama series. Originally inspired by Robert Altman’s interweaving movie meldings in “Short Cuts” and his (relatively late) introduction to the onslaught high literary and dramatic quality of various television series, Bellwood seeks to emulate such in live theatre.

As the primary source of his exposure to these series, it seems appropriate to premier an introductory program-presentation-reading of “Cozy Beach” at Best Video Performance Space.

Set in New Haven and a neighboring shoreline community, involving multiple characters and interwoven stories, this work-in-development will be presented in an adaptive shape of excerpted scenes to introduce primary characters and themes, and hopefully provoke and inspire general discussion and involvement.

Steve Bellwood

Steve Bellwood

Two prep-school senior girls are brutally murdered in a parents’ leafy suburban home, and the double homicide spins off an exploration of sex-drugs-organ trafficking, mercy-killing, PTSD, addiction, success and failure, justice, revenge, gender-identity, cultural identity, corruption and complicity by omission. When the underworld invades the over world….

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Jan. 22. ALT-COUNTRY: HEATHER FAY

• Friday, Jan. 23. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DEEPER SLEEPER (GARY VELUSH), MICHAEL KUSEK

• Sunday, Jan. 25. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY HITCHCOCK: “NORTH BY NORTHWEST”

• Wednesday, Jan. 28. BRAZILIAN MUSIC—A TRIBUTE TO TOM JOBIM: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Jan. 29. THEATER READING: “COZY BEACH” by STEVE BELLWOOD

• Friday., Jan. 30. JAZZ: URI SHAHAM

• Wednesday, Feb. 4. ALT-COUNTRY: LINES WEST

• Friday, Feb. 6. AVANT-GARDE: RIVENER, LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Monday, Feb. 9. FILM SCREENING: “LOST HORIZON”

• Wednesday, Feb. 11. JAZZ: BRETT BOTTOMLEY

• Thursday, Feb. 12. INDIE ROCK: HAPPY ENDING, LYS GUILLORN

• Friday, Feb. 20. INDIE ROCK: THE MOUNTAIN MOVERS

• Monday, Feb. 16. FILM SCREENING: “ABOUT SCHMIDT”

• Monday, Feb. 23. FILM SCREENING: “CRIMES AND MISDEMEANORS”

• Monday, Mar. 2. FILM SCREENING: “THE SWIMMER”

• Thursday, Mar. 5. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Mar. 6. JAZZ: NICK DiMARIA WiRED

• Monday, Mar. 9. FILM SCREENING: “GRAN TORINO”

• Monday, Mar. 16. FILM SCREENING: “NOW, VOYAGER”

• Monday, Mar. 23. FILM SCREENING: “UP IN THE AIR”

• Friday, April 3. AVANT-GARDE: ZERO DOLLAR

• Thursday, Apr. 9. 150th ANNIVERSARY OF APPOMATTOX/FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, April 17. WPKN BENEFIT

• Friday, May 1. FILM FEST: “A DARK ROOM”