Music: CD release show for The Korey Brodsky Band Thurs., Oct. 20

korey-album-cover-copy_webThe Korey Brodsky Band plays Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Oct. 20. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $8. The Korey Brodsky Band performs both original and traditional bluegrass with virtuoso instrumental playing and compelling trio harmonies. This is a CD release show for Korey Brodsky’s debut record “Cruizin.'”

The band features 17 year old Korey Brodsky who played guitar in the IBMA 2013 Youth All-Star band at the Awards Show in Raleigh, NC.  Korey has consistently placed in the top three spots in the adult guitar categories for guitar and mandolin at the Roxbury Pickin and Fiddlin contest.

Korey Brodsky’s debut album, ‘Cruizin,'” was just released. This project showcases Korey’s extraordinary guitar and mandolin skills and features his original instrumental songs. Early reviews of the album praise Korey’s mature and sensitive melodic playing as well as his strong rhythmic feel. Initially, Korey set out to make a purely instrumental bluegrass album until folk-rock icon Jonathan Edwards offered to sing two songs on the album. These tunes turned out to be joyously memorable moments for everyone in attendance.

The album was recorded in Portland, ME. The band for the sessions included multi-IBMA award winning mandolin player Jesse Brock, the phenomenal fiddler and vocalist Kalia Yeagle, melodic style banjo master Ron Cody, and veteran upright bass player Rick Brodsky. Additional guest appearances were made by Sofia Chiarandini and Michael Sassano.

Besides Korey, the group for this show features Dick Neal, Sofia Chiarandini and Rick Brodsky (Korey’s father).

Dick Neal plays banjo, mandolin and guitar and is the band’s most prolific songwriter. Dick works as a record producer, recording engineer, studio/performing musician, songwriter, recording artist, and teacher.

Sofia Chiarandini is 16 years old. She plays fiddle and sings both lead and harmony in the band. She is the 2014 recipient of the Mark O’Connor Berklee summer program scholarship award. Sofia has been playing since age 5 and studies classical violin with Juliette Kurtzman of Manhattan.

Rick Brodsky plays bass and sings with the band. Rick is a multi-instrumentalist musician and a production manager for the Clearwater Festival. He has appeared at festivals and venues around the Northeast and is a regular on the New York/Connecticut bluegrass scene.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Sunday, Oct. 16. FILM SCREENING: “DR. STRANGELOVE…” (2 PM)

• Sunday, OCt. 16. KLEZMER JAM (6 PM)

• Thursday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE KOREY BRODSKY BAND

• Friday, Oct. 21. BLUEGRASS/POP: JACKSON’S ISLAND

• Saturday, Oct. 22. JAZZ JAM with ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE MALTESE FALCON”

• Wednesday, Oct. 26. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 27. CELTIC AMERICA: THE EBIN-ROSE TRIO; SINGER-SONGWRITER:  DOUGLAS ALAN

• Friday, Oct. 28. HALLOWEEN SILENT FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT PLAYS TO “NOSFERATU”

• Saturday, Oct. 29. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “SPIRITED AWAY” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Sunday, Oct. 30. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE”

• Thursday, Nov. 3. ROCK: ROPE, THE TOMMYS

• Saturday, Nov. 5. AMERICANA: MATT WHEELER, GOODNIGHT BLUE MOON DUO

• Sunday, Nov. 6. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE ASPHALT JUNGLE”

• Thursday, Nov. 10. ALT-COUNTRY: SEPIATONE

• Friday, Nov. 11. FERNANDO PINTO PRESENTS JESSE TERRY & CALLAGHAN

• Sunday, Nov. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE AFRICAN QUEEN” (1 PM)

• Sunday, Nov. 13. KLEZMER JAM (6 PM)

• Thursday, Nov. 17. LITERARY READING: ALICE MATTISON

• Saturday, Nov. 19. JAZZ JAM with ALLEN LOWE

• Wednesday, Nov. 23. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: DANIEL BACHMAN

• Friday, Nov. 25. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: DAVE PETERSON (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Nov. 26. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE INCREDIBLE JOURNEY” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Thursday, Dec. 1. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: GLENN ROTH

• Friday, Dec. 9. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY BAND (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Friday, Dec. 16. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Saturday, Dec. 17. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE GOONIES” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)