Music: Kath Bloom with Tom Hanford; Bop Tweedie to perform Fri., Oct. 17, at 8 PM

Kath_Bloom_Tom_Hanford_BV_060514_WebThe duo of Kath Bloom and Tom Hanford return to perform at the Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Oct. 17. Singer-songwriter Bop Tweedie opens. The music starts at 8 PM.

For fans of the song and how to feel it, Kath Bloom (USA) is some kind of legend. She comes from a special place where country, blues and folk are made beautifully translucent and emotive. She has a special gift – her voice is delicate and tender,  yet retains that raw emotion and hard worn truths that allows each sung word to be felt.

The more you hear of Kath Bloom, the more you notice it’s not just the arresting voice, but the power of the songwriting. “Beautiful” is the typical response—the kind of beauty that comes from truth, musical and the deeply lyrical. There are no good comparisons, but if you like the deep well of Emmylou Harris, the more poignant lyrics of Lou Reed, the joy of Maher Shalal Hash Baz or even Joni Mitchell, you’re kinda in the right zone. In reality, she’s simply Kath Bloom: horse whisperer, vocalist, mum, songwriter and a beautiful person.

Her albums recorded with Loren Mazzacane Connors in the 70′s/80′s are rare things, full of songs that float and melt into the ether. Impossibly beautiful and hard to find on LP, but check the reissues from a few years ago. In the 90′s Kath’s music was famously featured in Richard Linklater’s film Before Sunrise. Since then she has been busy writing and recording to great acclaim. Two new albums in the last few years and she and her songs where also honoured on a tribute album featuring Bill Callahan, Scout Niblett and Mark Kozelek.

Kath Bloom will be performing with her longtime friend and musical compatriot Tom Hanford.

Bop Tweedie has played in a lot of New Haven bands—23 Hello, Media Circus, Chronicles Of DAISY, Bop Tweedie and the Days—but now describes himself (on his musician Facebook page) as “your typical singer/songwriter type.”

Bop_Tweedie_BV_060514_Web

These days he is performing his rockesque songs as a solo acoustic guitar singer/songwriter. His songs are “vaguely autobiographical.”

Tweedie’s influences are all over the place and always have been. “Classical, opera, rock, jazz, world music—chances are if it’s out there, I’ve listened to it,” he says.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 2. ORIGINAL INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC/JAZZ: GEORGE LESIW BAND

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR

• Sunday, Oct. 5. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “FLY AWAY HOME”

• Monday, Oct. 6. FILM SCREENING: “CAST AWAY”

• Wednesday, Oct. 8. AMERICANA: GOODNIGHT BLUE MOON

• Thursday, Oct. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Sunday, Oct. 12. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “BABE”

• Monday, Oct. 13. FILM SCREENING: “CAPE FEAR” (Original)

• Wednesday, Oct. 15. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN of MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Friday, Oct. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM with TOM HANFORD; BOP TWEEDIE

• Sunday, Oct. 19. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ANNIE”

• Monday, Oct. 20. FILM SCREENING: “DELIVERANCE”

• Thursday, Oct. 23. CABARET/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Friday, Oct. 24. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: FRANK CRITELLI; JAY PRINCE

• Sunday, Oct. 26. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “SHORT CIRCUIT”

• Monday, Oct. 27. FILM SCREENING: “THE SWIMMER”

• Wednesday, Oct. 29. ECLECTIC POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, Oct. 30. “SONGS OF MISERY, DESPAIR & THE SUPERNATURAL”: DAVID, SHELDON AND GAIL

• Sunday, Nov. 2. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ABBOTT & COSTELLO MEET FRANKENSTEIN”

• Monday, Nov. 3. FILM SCREENING: “The NIGHT OF THE HUNTER”

• Thursday, Nov. 6. BLUEGRASS: THE STACY PHILLIPS-PAUL HOWARD DUET

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Thursday, Nov. 20. FILM SCREENING: “SEVEN DAYS IN MAY”

Music: Kath Bloom & Tom Hanford, Bop Tweedie on Thurs., June 5, at 8 PM

Kath_BloomSinger-songwriters Kath Bloom and Tom Hanford and Bop Tweedie play the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, June 5. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

For fans of the song and how to feel it, Kath Bloom (USA) is some kind of legend. She comes from a special place where country, blues and folk are made beautifully translucent and emotive. She has a special gift – her voice is delicate and tender,  yet retains that raw emotion and hard worn truths that allows each sung word to be felt.

The more you hear of Kath Bloom, the more you notice it’s not just the arresting voice, but the power of the songwriting. “Beautiful” is the typical response—the kind of beauty that comes from truth, musical and the deeply lyrical. There are no good comparisons, but if you like the deep well of Emmylou Harris, the more poignant lyrics of Lou Reed, the joy of Maher Shalal Hash Baz or even Joni Mitchell, you’re kinda in the right zone. In reality, she’s simply Kath Bloom: horse whisperer, vocalist, mum, songwriter and a beautiful person.

Her albums recorded with Loren Mazzacane Connors in the 70′s/80′s are rare things, full of songs that float and melt into the ether. Impossibly beautiful and hard to find on LP, but check the reissues from a few years ago. In the 90′s Kath’s music was famously featured in Richard Linklater’s film Before Sunrise. Since then she has been busy writing and recording to great acclaim. Two new albums in the last few years and she and her songs where also honoured on a tribute album featuring Bill Callahan, Scout Niblett and Mark Kozelek.

Kath Bloom will be performing with her longtime friend and musical compatriot Tom Hanford.

Bop_TweedieBop Tweedie has played in a lot of New Haven bands—23 Hello, Media Circus, Chronicles Of DAISY, Bop Tweedie and the Days—but now describes himself (on his musician Facebook page) as “your typical singer/songwriter type.”

These days he is performing his rockesque songs as a solo acoustic guitar singer/songwriter. His songs are “vaguely autobiographical.”

Tweedie’s influences are all over the place and always have been. “Classical, opera, rock, jazz, world music—chances are if it’s out there, I’ve listened to it,” he says.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, May 28. SYNTH POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, May 29. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: SAM PERDUTA, JASON PRINCE

• Monday, June 2. FILM SCREENING: “LOCAL HERO”

• Wednesday, June 4. ROCK: THE IVORY BILLS

• Thursday, June 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM & TOM HANFORD, BOP TWEEDIE

• Friday, June 6. WORLD MUSIC/FOLK: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Wednesday, June 11. LITERARY READING: ALICE MATTISON, SANDI KAHN SHELTON

• Thursday, June 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, June 13. FOLK: ROBERT MESSORE

• Wednesday, June 18. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, June 19. GARAGE POP/PSYCHEDELIC ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Wednesday, June 25. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Thursday, June 26. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, June 27. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU

• Wednesday, July 9. CLASSICAL GUITAR: ORPHÉE RUSSELL

• Thursday, July 31. ROCK: THE SHELLY VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Aug. 1. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET