Music: Ragweed to play bluegrass Thurs., Sept. 18, at 8 PM

Ragweed plays Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Sept. 18. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Ragweed_at_Best_Video

One Yale grad student, and four contractors with high school diplomas sounds like an unpredictable mix. Experienced pickers all, their shared love of bluegrass and wide ranging musical tastes make for an entertaining live show.

Ragweed is a bluegrass band loosely based in New Haven county. Band members are Amanda Gregg (mandolin), Bob Boettger (bass), Chris Wuerth (guitar), Jon Wuerth (guitar) and Paul Neri (banjo). All six members sing, but usually not all at the same time. They began in 2007 as a barn band. Not happy being stuck in barns, they began performing live at venues around the state, and quickly realized they loved performing. Among their many influences are Tim O’Brien, John Hartford, Tony Rice, and Bill Monroe. Traditional bluegrass, old country, fiddle tunes, and attempts at humor, are all part of their repertoire.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Sept. 11. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, JACKET THOR

• Friday, Sept. 12. CHORAL ROCK, INDIE ROCK: THE DRESS-UPS (CD RELEASE!), THE SAWTELLES

• Wednesday, Sept. 17. NEO-FOLK/RAGTIME: AMY KUCHARIK

• Thursday, Sept. 18. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Sept. 19. INDIE ROCK: EURISKO

• Wednesday, Sept. 24. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Sept. 25. JAZZ: THE ELLIGERS BROTHERS

• Friday, Sept. 26. INDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE, THE SHRINNIRS

• Sunday, Sept. 28. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “BECAUSE OF WINN-DIXIE”

• Monday, Sept. 29. FILM SCREENING: “A RIVER RUNS THROUGH IT”

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 2. ORIGINAL INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC/JAZZ: GEORGE LESIW BAND

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR

• Sunday, Oct. 5. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “FLY AWAY HOME”

• Monday, Oct. 6. FILM SCREENING: “CAST AWAY”

• Wednesday, Oct. 8. AMERICANA: GOODNIGHT BLUE MOON

• Thursday, Oct. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Sunday, Oct. 12. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “BABE”

• Monday, Oct. 13. FILM SCREENING: “CAPE FEAR” (Original)

• Wednesday, Oct. 15. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN of MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Sunday, Oct. 19. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ANNIE”

• Monday, Oct. 20. FILM SCREENING: “DELIVERANCE”

• Thursday, Oct. 23. CABARET/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Sunday, Oct. 26. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “SHORT CIRCUIT”

• Monday, Oct. 27. FILM SCREENING: “THE SWIMMER”

• Wednesday, Oct. 29. ECLECTIC POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, Oct. 30. “SONGS OF MISERY, DESPAIR & THE SUPERNATURAL”: DAVID, SHELDON AND GAIL

• Sunday, Nov. 2. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ABBOTT & COSTELLO MEET FRANKENSTEIN”

• Monday, Nov. 3. FILM SCREENING: “The NIGHT OF THE HUNTER”

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Thursday, Nov. 20. FILM SCREENING: “SEVEN DAYS IN MAY”

 

Music: Dudley Farm String Band on Wed., Aug. 20, at 8 PM

Dudley Farm String Band plays the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Aug. 20. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

DFSB_groupWeb

While they have roots in bluegrass, Dudley Farm String Band brings together bluegrass, traditional and progressive styles. You might hear them playing old-timey standards one minute, and progressive folk or rock-‘n-roll sets the next. They have a great time when they play together, and it shows.

They pull tunes and styles from the likes of Bill Monroe, Ralph Stanley, The Soggy Bottom Boys (from “O Brother Where Art Thou?”), Doc Watson, Bela Fleck, Pink Floyd, Irving Berlin, Jerry Garcia and David Grisman. The group has also developed a substantial collection of original tunes.

The five band members play a range of folk instruments: Mat Crowley – mandolin; Irv Hagwood – banjo; Stan Hershonic – resonator slide guitar, mandolin, banjolin and harmonica; Mike Sinclair – bass and harmonica; and Brian Young – guitar, banjo and bass. They all sing from time to time, with Brian, Mat and Stan most often featured.

They’ve played in venues around the state, including: The Podunk Bluegrass Festival, East Hartford, CT; Yale University Art Gallery, New Haven; Medad Stone Tavern Museum, Guilford; Madison Historical Society and Bauer Park, Madison, CT; Night of a Thousand Stars (Guilford Free Library); North Branford Library; The International Festival of Arts & Ideas, New Haven, CT; The Durham Fair, and, of course, performances at Dudley Farm. Dudley Farm String Band also recorded traditional music for the soundtrack of a Dudley Farm video showing a recent barn-raising at the farm.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Aug. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, SETH TIVEN

• Thursday, Aug. 14. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET

• Monday, Aug. 18. FILM SCREENING: DANNY SAYS (ROUGH CUT) with FILMMAKER BRENDAN TOLLER

• Wednesday, Aug. 20. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 21. ROCK: ROPE, JAMES VELVET

• Friday, Aug. 22. CABARET: RICH MORAN

• Thursday, Aug. 28. FREE IMPROV: FUCHSPRELLEN

• Friday, Aug. 29. INDIE ROCK & FILM SCREENING: AL HOWARD

• Wednesday, Sept. 3. CARIBBEAN/POP: LUKE RODNEY, FILM BY PHINEAS I. GACK

• Thursday, Sept. 4. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Friday, Sept. 5. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Wednesday, Sept. 10. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Sept. 12. CHORAL ROCK, INDIE ROCK: THE DRESS-UPS (CD RELEASE!), THE SAWTELLES

• Wednesday, Sept. 17. NEO-FOLK/RAGTIME: AMY KUCHARIK

• Thursday, Sept. 18. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Sept. 19. INDIE ROCK: EURISKO

• Wednesday, Sept. 24. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Sept. 25. JAZZ: THE ELLIGERS BROTHERS

• Friday, Sept. 26. INDIE ROCK: THE SHRINNIRS

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 2. ORIGINAL INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC/JAZZ: GEORGE LESIW BAND

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR

• Wednesday, Oct. 8. AMERICANA: GOODNIGHT BLUE MOON

• Thursday, Oct. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Oct. 15. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN of MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Thursday, Oct. 23. CABARET/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER