[UPDATED 11/29/16] Music: Jazz from the Uri Shaham and friends on Wed., Nov. 30

uri_shaham_square_web

[UPDATED 11/29/16 to reflect an expanded lineup for Wednesday night.]

Pianist Uri Shaham offers “A Jazzy Evening of Pure Joy and Lots of Fun” at Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Nov. 30. The music starts st 8 PM and the cover is $5. In other words, a few of the busiest local jazz musicians gather for a swinging Friday evening of jazz standards and gooooooooood vibes.

Shaham has been playing jazz for about 10 years, first in Israel and since two years ago, also here. He performs regularly in New Haven and the vicinity, in particular in The 9th Note and Cave a Vin.

“I play mainstream jazz with strong Hard Bop Influences. Among my strong influences are jazz pianists Kenny Barron, Barry Harris, Hank Jones, Bill Evans, Wynton Kelly, Bud Powell, Red Garland, Herbie Hancock, Keith Jarrett and Chick Corea,” says Shaham.

Although the show was originally announced as a trio performance, Shaham will actually be joined by Paul Shanley (bass), Jerry Cambria (drums), Chris DePino (harmonica), Billy Cofrances (alto sax),  Mark Kaplan (tenor sax) and Gary Grippo (guitar).

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Saturday, Nov. 26. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE INCREDIBLE JOURNEY” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Nov. 28. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CHARADE”

• Wednesday, Nov. 30. JAZZ: URI SHAHAM TRIO

• Thursday, Dec. 1. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: GLENN ROTH, SINGER-SONGWRITER: KRISTEN GRAVES

• Friday, Dec. 2. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES CD RELEASE SHOW, HANK HOFFMAN (solo)

• Sunday, Dec. 4. FREE FIRST SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM (PRESENTED BY GUITARTOWNCT)

• Monday, Dec. 5. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “PAT GARRETT & BILLY THE KID”

• Thursday, Dec. 8. AMERICANA: SEPIATONE

• Friday, Dec. 9. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY BAND (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Monday, Dec. 12. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “WINTER’S BONE”

• Thursday, Dec. 15. JAZZ: THE AFRO-SEMITIC DUO (DAVID CHEVAN & WARREN BYRD)

• Friday, Dec. 16. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Saturday, Dec. 17. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE GOONIES” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Dec. 19. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CONTACT”

• Friday, Jan. 6. ACOUSTIC FOLK BLUES & MORE: VANGE DURST

• Saturday, Jan. 7. MUSIC OF “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, Jan. 13. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Friday, Jan. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Friday, Jan. 27. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Friday, Feb. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Feb. 10. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Friday, Feb. 24. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE