Music: José Oyola, Rebecca Kessler (Violent Mae) to perform solo Fri., July 8

José Oyola and Rebecca Kessler perform solo sets at Best Video Performance Space on Friday, July 8. The show starts at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover.

Drawing inspiration from a love of outer space and thoughtful appreciation of the human experience, José Oyola & The Astronauts craft multi-dimensional, bilingual indie rock with a psychedelic edge. Based out of New Haven, Connecticut, JOATA has shared the stage with Explosions in the Sky, Bear Hands, The Stepkids, Miniature Tigers, The Dear Hunter, Moving Mountains, Sage Francis, Cage, and Ceschi. Their sophomore album, ‘Hologram,’ was released this past November on Purebred Records.

José Oyola

José Oyola

Oyola is ambitious and relishes a challenge in his musical career: The group played the CD release show for “Hologram” at College Street Music hall, attracting an audience of 600, unprecedented for a local band. Before he put the band together, Oyola used to regularly perform solo. He plays a solo set this Friday at Best Video.

Kessler, a songwriter, singer and guitar player, calls the Outer Banks of North Carolina home, where she finally settled as a teenager after moving every year or so, mostly around the Southeast U.S., to 11 different places. A friend invited her to live and work on an organic farm in Connecticut, where she soon met Floyd Kellogg, a multi-instrumentalist, engineer and producer. The two began recording at Casa de Warrenton Studio in Hartford, expanding Becky’s songs with Floyd’s arrangements and parts. They ultimately formed VIOLENT MAE after making a record, playing all the instruments on it and opening for Nels Cline and Julian Lage at one of their first live performances. VIOLENT MAE won Best New Band at the 2013 Connecticut Music Awards and was recently honored by The Deli Magazine as one of New England’s Top Emerging Artists.

Rebecca Kessler

Rebecca Kessler

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, July 7. JAZZ: MICHAELA COPPOLA & AMANDA BELLITTO

• Friday, July 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOSÉ OYOLA, REBECCA KESSLER OF VIOLENT MAE (SOLO)

• Saturday, July 9. FILM SCREENING: A DARK ROOM FILM FEST WITH TONY JULIANO

• Sunday, July 10. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY BILLY WILDER (“WITNESS FOR THE PROSECUTION”)

• Monday, July 11. FILM SCREENING: “REMEMBER”

• Wednesday, July 13. ROCK: HOLIDAY PING

• Thursday, July 14. SINGER-SONGWRITER/INDIE ROCK: DANIELLE CAPALBO

• Friday, July 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER: KATH BLOOM, BOP TWEEDIE

• Monday, July 18. FILM SCREENING: “LIFEBOAT”

• Wednesday, July 20. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARMS STRING BAND

• Thursday, July 21. JAZZ: BRETT BOTTOMLEY

• Friday, July 22. FOLK: HOMEMADE JAM

• Sunday, July 24. INDIE, HIP-HOP: RUNNING LAPS & NATHAN CORP, THE FOREST ROOM, CHEF THE CHEF, ZAK G.

• Monday, July 25. FILM SCREENING: “ACE IN THE HOLE”

• Wednesday, July 27. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS PRESENTS THE MUSIC OF ENNIO MORRICONE

• Thursday, July 28. DIY/EXPERIMENTAL: PAINTED FACES, BIG NURSE

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Monday, Aug. 1. FILM SCREENING: “THE TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Aug. 3. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, Aug. 4. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: THE NAMELESS TRIO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, EARTHLINGS

• Monday, Aug. 8. FILM SCREENING: “MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION”

• Wednesday, Aug. 10. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Thursday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT

• Wednesday, Aug. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE, TINY OCEAN

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING: “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

 

Music: Becky Kessler (of Violent Mae), Sam Perduta (of Elison Jackson) on Fri., Nov. 21, at 8 PM

The singer-songwriters Becky Kessler and Sam Perduta play the Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Nov. 21. Kessler has scored plaudits for her work fronting the duo Violent Mae (with Floyd Kellogg) while Perduta has won acclaim as the songwriter and frontman for the band Elison Jackson. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Kessler, a songwriter, singer and guitar player, calls the Outer Banks of North Carolina home, where she finally settled as a teenager after moving every year or so, mostly around the Southeast U.S., to 11 different places. A friend invited her to live and work on an organic farm in Connecticut, where she soon met Floyd Kellogg, a multi-instrumentalist, engineer and producer. The two began recording at Casa de Warrenton Studio in Hartford, expanding Becky’s songs with Floyd’s arrangements and parts. They ultimately formed VIOLENT MAE after making a record, playing all the instruments on it and opening for Nels Cline and Julian Lage at one of their first live performances. VIOLENT MAE won Best New Band at the 2013 Connecticut Music Awards and was recently honored by The Deli Magazine as one of New England’s Top Emerging Artists.

Becky Kessler, performing with Violent Mae.

Becky Kessler, performing with Violent Mae.

On his Listen, Dammit blog, Eric Danton writes of the Violent Mae record, “Becky Kessler and Floyd Kellogg make dreamy, low-key pop that is largely defined by their use of space.  They have created a striking sound that is the sonic equivalent of a slow, deep embrace.” Violent Mae is currently recording their second record, to be released in the spring of 2015.

Sam Perduta leads and writes the songs for local rock band Elison Jackson. Over the past two years, the group has played about five shows a month, and more when they have done mini-tours. Their EP “I Do Believe She Flew Out The Drainpipe,” which came out in 2012, received a rave review on CT.com from Chip McCabe as “hands down one of the best things you’ll hear out of the CT music scene this year.” The group released their new LP, “Do Not Fear To Kill A Dead Man,” in 2013 on the Telegraph Recording Company label and it garnered similar acclaim.

Sam Perduta

Sam Perduta

“The music I like could have been written at any point and could work in any form,” Perduta says. It’s a quality he strives for in his own songs, that “they could be played acoustic and sound as powerful as played with a band. Or they could be played on a banjo or a piano.”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Nov. 13. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: FRANK CRITELLI, JASON PRINCE

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Monday, Nov. 17. FILM SCREENING: “I CONFESS”

• Wednesday, Nov. 19. SONGWRITERS’ CIRCLE: MARK MIRANDO, DICK NEAL, LAURA JOY

• Thursday, Nov. 20. FILM SCREENING: “SEVEN DAYS IN MAY”

• Friday, Nov. 21. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: BECKY KESSLER (Violent Mae), SAM PERDUTA (Elison Jackson)

• Monday, Nov. 24. FILM SCREENING: “BABETTE’S FEAST”

• Friday, Nov. 28. PSYCHO-FOLK: MILKSOP: UNSUNG

• Monday, Dec. 1. FILM SCREENING: “DOUBT”

• Thursday, Dec. 4. JAZZ: REBECCA ABBOTT

• Friday, Dec. 5. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Monday, Dec. 8. FILM SCREENING: “THE END OF THE AFFAIR”

• Thursday, Dec. 11. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Monday, Dec. 15. FILM SCREENING: “VISION”

• Thursday, Dec. 18. POST-PUNK: ZOO FRONT, KEVIN MF KING

• Friday, Dec. 19. ALT-COUNTRY: HEATHER FAY

• Friday, Jan. 9. MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Wednesday, Jan. 14. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS